|On this page|
Starting a new rig setup
Create a new setup
Add a character rig to the scene by selecting that character with . Alternatively, the node name can be typed into the character text field, or dragged in from the Network Editor. A history of the selected characters is maintained in the drop down menu next to the character text field.
Add a new view
Use the Tabs ▸ Add tab menu and select either Single View or Multi View Tab. A Single View will contain one character viewer pane, while a Multi View will contain four panes that can be resized.
Once the pane is created, a tab will appear, and Edit will be toggled on. While Edit is active, you can add control buttons, set background images, create and delete groups, and resize the view. To resume normal functionality, turn off Edit.
Setting up control buttons
Adding background images
While in Edit, you can set the background image of the view by clicking Set Background, and set the image using the currently opened viewport, an external file, or an image supplied by a URL link. The images will be saved within the character picker, so there is no need to keep image files or maintain directory continuity.
A Scene View tab must be visible for the background to be set with a viewport image. Additionally, the .hip must be saved and have an associated
Manipulating multiple characters in a scene
If you have multiple characters in the scene with identical rigs and wish to use the same layout controls to manipulate both, select the other characters using the chooser. You can toggle between the characters using the dropdown menu. Whichever character is displayed in the Characters field is the character the controls will be applied to.
Loading and Saving
Views can be saved to a
.json file or directly to the rig’s digital asset. For example, the Simple Biped character already includes a character picker rig. The view state is stored by using the File ▸ Save Layout menu. Views can be loaded from a digital asset or an external file via File ▸ Load Layout.
Click ⌃ Ctrl + S to quick save changes to the place the layout was last saved or originally loaded from.