HAPI usage in standalone player ( windows 7 64bit )

   4256   5   1
User Avatar
Member
23 posts
Joined: Dec. 2013
Offline
Hey everyone ,

Well , just started experimenting with HE lately and it's all been great till moment i decided to make a build and suddenly found that nothing was working…I mean , after couple hours of debugging all i got was ‘HoudiniErrorNotFound’ exception. I tried to set HAPI_ENABLE_RUNTIME to true but it didn't help either.

The only thing i'm trying to achieve is just changing OTL interface in runtime.
Any tips are greatly appreciated!

Thx.
User Avatar
Member
402 posts
Joined: March 2013
Offline
Sorry, but runtime is not support at this time. You can only use Houdini Assets in the Editor. You cannot manipulate their parameters and have them regenerate in a built game.

HAPI_ENABLE_RUNTIME was always a highly experimental environment variable which probably doesn't work anymore.
User Avatar
Member
67 posts
Joined: May 2016
Offline
I am getting a similar error message when I attempt to build:

Assets/Houdini/Scripts/HoudiniHost.cs(369,154): error CS0117: `HoudiniConstants' does not contain a definition for `HAPI_ENABLE_RUNTIME'

Here is the code:

public static bool prEnableCooking {
#if UNITY_EDITOR
get { return getBool( “HAPI_EnableCooking” ); }
set { setBool( “HAPI_EnableCooking”, value ); }
#else
get { return getBool( “HAPI_EnableCooking” ) && HoudiniConstants.HAPI_ENABLE_RUNTIME; }
set {}
#endif // UNITY_EDITOR

This is using the latest version of the Unity/Houdini plugin code from Github. I obviously don't want to do any cooking, or editing of any kind, at runtime, so what do I do to get a build of my project with the various Houdini scripts enabled? Have I missed some documentation on this?

Cheers,
Andy
User Avatar
Member
67 posts
Joined: May 2016
Offline
OK, so I added it, and it compiled OK. However does that mean there is code in the build that shouldn't be?
User Avatar
Member
402 posts
Joined: March 2013
Offline
That build break should have been fixed in 15.5.566 (which is probably equivalent to your local fix). So either update or keep your local change.
User Avatar
Member
67 posts
Joined: May 2016
Offline
Thank you for the update.
  • Quick Links