extracting the current time and date - how?

   13880   13   4
User Avatar
Member
63 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hello,
Is it possible (in Houdini, Windows) to somehow extract the current time and date? I would like to append the resulting string to the name of my many test render frames…
It appears that of all the variables defined on the system, one cannot extract only the Date and Time

Any ideas?
User Avatar
Member
201 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
diula
Hello,
Is it possible (in Houdini, Windows) to somehow extract the current time and date? I would like to append the resulting string to the name of my many test render frames…
It appears that of all the variables defined on the system, one cannot extract only the Date and Time

Any ideas?


You could use system expression and do something like:

set a = `system(“date +%T”)` —> 18:08:16
or
set a = `system(“date +%D”)` —-> 10/22/06
or
set a = `system(“date +%D_%T”)` —-> 10/22/06_18:08:16

Hope this helps a bit
Cheers,
Rob
Digital Supervisor | Stargate Studios Toronto
User Avatar
Member
7710 posts
Joined: July 2005
Online
On Windows, I think you need to install cygwin or gnuwin32 in order to use the Unix date utility.
User Avatar
Member
166 posts
Joined: Feb. 2006
Offline
On Windows, you can do it more or less like in Linux without having to install Cygwin

set time = `arg(system(date),3)`;

for the date you need to get it this way:

set dayOfWeek = `arg(system(date),0)`;
set date = `arg(system(date),1)`;
set month = `arg(system(date),2)`;

Maybe a better way though….
Time to get out of this messy world.
User Avatar
Member
109 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Did anyone get this working?
On windows, the system command doesnt' seem to work.

/ -> set time = `system(date /T)`
/ -> echo $time

/ ->
User Avatar
Member
109 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Edit: duplicate
Edited by - Nov. 2, 2006 08:42:00
User Avatar
Member
166 posts
Joined: Feb. 2006
Offline

set time = `arg(system(date),3)`;
echo $time


works

and if it doesnt work with the “date” from windows, it is because I have UnxUtils
http://sourceforge.net/projects/unxutils/ [sourceforge.net]

a bunch of UNIX utils very easy to install:
- Download
- Put the folder where ever you want
- Make sure that the environment var PATH has the directory where UnxUtils is installed….
Time to get out of this messy world.
User Avatar
Member
121 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
It works without any UNIX tools. Basicly date is a cmd application, so you need to call it something like this (I forgot the exact syntax and no Houdini near me):

system(cmd(date))
or
system(cmd date)

Achim
User Avatar
Member
109 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Good tip, thanks.

turned out I had to use this structure in textport :

echo `system(“cmd /c date /t”)`
User Avatar
Member
76 posts
Joined: March 2007
Offline
Just been playing with this problem as well. Here follows a little trick you can do get the current system time on Windows.

The $ExportNode can be any node but I used the ROP node I was executing the script from in which I needed systemtime.


opset -h off $ExportNode
opset -h on $ExportNode
set FullTime = `execute(“opstat -m $ExportNode”)`
set ExportTime = `arg($FullTime,5)`


cheers,
benS
User Avatar
Member
88 posts
Joined: Feb. 2021
Offline
I spend some time trying diferent system commands in the name but every timei try this the sting gets split somehow and i end up with an unnumbered 0 kb file where the name ends after the system command.

examples $HIP/render/projection/%HIPNAME_`system("powershell Get-Date -Format 'MM_dd_HH:mm'").4F.exr


yieds a folder with 1_13_12:44 no extention or anything.

are we sure $DATE isnt a thing ?
User Avatar
Member
27 posts
Joined: Sept. 2017
Offline
TangheStudent
examples $HIP/render/projection/%HIPNAME_`system("powershell Get-Date -Format 'MM_dd_HH:mm'").4F.exr

yieds a folder with 1_13_12:44 no extention or anything.

This works well on Windows except that the colon character cannot be used as a folder or file name on a Windows system.
User Avatar
Member
8525 posts
Joined: July 2007
Offline
This thread is since before there was a Python in Houdini
But nowadays you can probably just use Python and be consistent across OSs
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
User Avatar
Member
251 posts
Joined: July 2013
Offline
I jumped on the houdini bandwagon around version 15, surprised to learn it was without python once!
More code, less clicks.
  • Quick Links