TAB Submenu Path

   7409   9   3
User Avatar
Member
14 posts
Joined: July 2013
Offline
There is any way to change the TAB Submenu Path via python??
I am sure there is, but I couldn't find it.

Thanks.
User Avatar
Member
14 posts
Joined: July 2013
Offline
No one?? Please!!
User Avatar
Staff
1448 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Here is an excerpt from our bug database:

Yes, this can be done through HOM. The tools are defined as an XML file, which is stored in the “Tools.shelf” section of an HDA definition. The XML file format is documented here:
http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini14.0/shelf/config_file [sidefx.com]
For the Tab Submenu, you'd need to set the <toolSubmenu> tag.

You can add a new section by:
hda_definition = node.type().definition()
hda_definition.addSection(“Tools.shelf”, your_xml_string)

You could examine an existing section by:
tools_section = hda_definition.sections()

Also take a look at:
http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini14.0/hom/hou/HDADefinition [sidefx.com]
http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini14.0/hom/hou/HDASection [sidefx.com]
User Avatar
Member
14 posts
Joined: July 2013
Offline
I did exactly that, but I was expecting something more clean, rather than add a section and append and xml file…
If this is the only solution, that's fine too.

Thank you very much rafal.
User Avatar
Member
44 posts
Joined: July 2017
Offline
Is there a cleaner way now we are working with Houdini 16.5?
Thanks
User Avatar
Member
7739 posts
Joined: Sept. 2011
Online
nope, were still dumping xml files to /tmp in 2018
User Avatar
Member
44 posts
Joined: July 2017
Offline
jsmack
nope, were still dumping xml files to /tmp in 2018
Thank you very much
User Avatar
Member
11 posts
Joined: April 2017
Offline
Going to bump this thread again. Is there a cleaner way of doing this now?

Thanks!
Jim Watson
Senior Technical Artist
Bend Studio - Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE)
User Avatar
Member
120 posts
Joined: Jan. 2012
Offline
Take a look at VHDA from Labs. It's still XML, but their code looks clean enough to me.
Michal Tas Maciejewski @ www.vfxtricks.com
User Avatar
Member
11 posts
Joined: April 2017
Offline
tas3d
Take a look at VHDA from Labs. It's still XML, but their code looks clean enough to me.
Thanks!
Jim Watson
Senior Technical Artist
Bend Studio - Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE)
  • Quick Links