Instant Meshes Bridge Sop

   70606   93   22
User Avatar
Member
181 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
I haven't tried the latest branch yet, but mesh self-intersection can also happen in the standalone Instant Meshes application in some circumstances.



Disabling “pure quad mesh” (the quad dominant flag that Luiz mentions) fixes it, but at the expense of allowing N-gons.

# Build Instant Meshes Commandline
cmd = [instant_meshes]
cmd.append("-D")
cmd.append("-f")
cmd.append(numPolys)
cmd.append("-o")
cmd.append(out_path)    
cmd.append(in_path)

Attachments:
overlap.png (215.5 KB)

User Avatar
Member
11 posts
Joined: Oct. 2015
Online
lkruel
Hey guys,

Can someone send me one of those files that are erroring out? I haven't been able to reproduce it.

You can try hitting Clear Cache and seeing if the problem goes away. I'm wondering if that's an issue with loading the OBJs back in from IM or something that they're generating.

I've also pushed an update to the Development branch that adds the Quad Dominant option and control over the Crease Angle.

Hi!

I am attaching the bugged file. I have updated the tool to the latest one but it didn't help

Cheers!

Tomasz

Attachments:
InstantMesh_bug.hiplc (60.8 KB)

User Avatar
Member
4 posts
Joined: March 2013
Offline
Hello! Big thanks for this tool
but I have an error

Attachments:
2017-12-24_14-46-52.png (60.5 KB)

User Avatar
Member
757 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
Has the overlap issue been fixed ? Instant Meshes is already part of Modo but I'd love to paint areas that I want to re-topologize manually as so those areas are deleted automatically for edge flow etc ?
【T】【C】【S】
User Avatar
Member
13 posts
Joined: Oct. 2013
Offline
I know you can paint a direction flow in the stand alone application.
Would it be possible to use Houdini attributes to act as those guides, so you can use the comb node for more control?
User Avatar
Staff
4158 posts
Joined: Sept. 2007
Offline
Octop
I know you can paint a direction flow in the stand alone application.
Would it be possible to use Houdini attributes to act as those guides, so you can use the comb node for more control?

Unfortunately, this HDA is at the mercy of the commandline options exposed by the instant meshes tool. The curve/painting tools are all interactive parts of the GUI, so we can't currently add them in.
I'm o.d.d.
User Avatar
Member
15 posts
Joined: June 2016
Offline
Christopher_R
Has the overlap issue been fixed ? Instant Meshes is already part of Modo but I'd love to paint areas that I want to re-topologize manually as so those areas are deleted automatically for edge flow etc ?

Interesting. Do you have a reference (link) somewhere that they included/licensed InstantMeshes in Modo?
User Avatar
Member
181 posts
Joined: Feb. 2013
Offline
Doesn't seem to be listed in the credits, but references can be found elsewhere:

04 July 2017

Since version 10.2, Modo uses our Instant Meshes algorithm to implement its automatic retopology feature! The Foundry just released an interview with Wenzel Jakob [www.foundry.com] (PDF) about this technique and other recent projects in this area.

http://rgl.epfl.ch [rgl.epfl.ch]

User Avatar
Member
14 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
lkruel
Hey everybody,

I put together a quick little SOP that lets you call instant meshes from inside Houdini.

For those that don't know, instant meshes is a really cool open source software that does a great job with quad remeshing.

https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes [github.com]


Looks great! Will definitely have a look at instant meshes
User Avatar
Member
14 posts
Joined: March 2018
Offline
lkruel
Hey everybody,

I put together a quick little SOP that lets you call instant meshes from inside Houdini.

For those that don't know, instant meshes is a really cool open source software that does a great job with quad remeshing.

https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes [github.com]


Looks great! Will definitely have a look at instant meshes
User Avatar
Member
670 posts
Joined: Sept. 2013
Offline
Cool tool, I get an error, though, in Houdini 16.5.378 on Mac OS 10.13.3:
Instant Meshes location: $HOUDINI_USER_PREF_DIR/Instant Meshes.app/Contents/MacOS/Instant Meshes

Invalid source /obj/geo1/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 41, in
File “/Applications/Houdini/Houdini16.5.378/Frameworks/Houdini.framework/Versions/16.5.378/Resources/houdini/python2.7libs/hou.py”, line 25010, in loadFromFile
return _hou.Geometry_loadFromFile(*args)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.
Could not read from the specified file
.
Invalid source /obj/geo1/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 41, in
File “/Applications/Houdini/Houdini16.5.378/Frameworks/Houdini.framework/Versions/16.5.378/Resources/houdini/python2.7libs/hou.py”, line 25010, in loadFromFile
return _hou.Geometry_loadFromFile(*args)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.
Could not read from the specified file
.
Edited by Konstantin Magnus - March 12, 2018 16:47:40
https://procegen.konstantinmagnus.de/ [procegen.konstantinmagnus.de]
User Avatar
Member
11 posts
Joined: Nov. 2017
Offline
Konstantin Magnus
Cool tool, I get an error, though, in Houdini 16.5.378 on Mac OS 10.13.3:
Instant Meshes location: $HOUDINI_USER_PREF_DIR/Instant Meshes.app/Contents/MacOS/Instant Meshes

Invalid source /obj/geo1/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 41, in
File “/Applications/Houdini/Houdini16.5.378/Frameworks/Houdini.framework/Versions/16.5.378/Resources/houdini/python2.7libs/hou.py”, line 25010, in loadFromFile
return _hou.Geometry_loadFromFile(*args)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.
Could not read from the specified file
.
Invalid source /obj/geo1/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 41, in
File “/Applications/Houdini/Houdini16.5.378/Frameworks/Houdini.framework/Versions/16.5.378/Resources/houdini/python2.7libs/hou.py”, line 25010, in loadFromFile
return _hou.Geometry_loadFromFile(*args)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.
Could not read from the specified file
.

I'm getting an error too, except mine is a touch different (line 38 instead of 41 for me) Windows 10:


Error
Invalid source /obj/geo/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 38, in
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 524, in call
return Popen(*popenargs, **kwargs).wait()
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 711, in __init__
errread, errwrite)
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 948, in _execute_child
startupinfo)
WindowsError: The system cannot find the file specified
.
Invalid source /obj/BP_rubblemaker/bricksmesh/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 38, in
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 524, in call
return Popen(*popenargs, **kwargs).wait()
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 711, in __init__
errread, errwrite)
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 948, in _execute_child
startupinfo)
WindowsError: The system cannot find the file specified
.
User Avatar
Member
11 posts
Joined: Nov. 2017
Offline
tmishler
Konstantin Magnus
Cool tool, I get an error, though, in Houdini 16.5.378 on Mac OS 10.13.3:
Instant Meshes location: $HOUDINI_USER_PREF_DIR/Instant Meshes.app/Contents/MacOS/Instant Meshes

Invalid source /obj/geo1/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 41, in
File “/Applications/Houdini/Houdini16.5.378/Frameworks/Houdini.framework/Versions/16.5.378/Resources/houdini/python2.7libs/hou.py”, line 25010, in loadFromFile
return _hou.Geometry_loadFromFile(*args)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.
Could not read from the specified file
.
Invalid source /obj/geo1/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 41, in
File “/Applications/Houdini/Houdini16.5.378/Frameworks/Houdini.framework/Versions/16.5.378/Resources/houdini/python2.7libs/hou.py”, line 25010, in loadFromFile
return _hou.Geometry_loadFromFile(*args)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.
Could not read from the specified file
.

I'm getting an error too, except mine is a touch different (line 38 instead of 41 for me) Windows 10:


Error
Invalid source /obj/geo/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 38, in
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 524, in call
return Popen(*popenargs, **kwargs).wait()
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 711, in __init__
errread, errwrite)
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 948, in _execute_child
startupinfo)
WindowsError: The system cannot find the file specified
.
Invalid source /obj/BP_rubblemaker/bricksmesh/sop_instant_meshes1/python1
Error: Python error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 38, in
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 524, in call
return Popen(*popenargs, **kwargs).wait()
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 711, in __init__
errread, errwrite)
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.378\python27\lib\subprocess.py”, line 948, in _execute_child
startupinfo)
WindowsError: The system cannot find the file specified
.

No longer an issue for me.
User Avatar
Member
670 posts
Joined: Sept. 2013
Offline
tmishler
No longer an issue for me.
How did you solve it? And you are on Windows right?
https://procegen.konstantinmagnus.de/ [procegen.konstantinmagnus.de]
User Avatar
Member
118 posts
Joined: Feb. 2016
Offline
Hello, has anybody ever experienced this issue of instameshes producing holes in the geometry?
Cheers



Edited by Andr1 - April 18, 2018 18:50:21
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined: Nov. 2012
Offline
Yeah, it has a hard time with thin edges… You can try increasing your resolution, sometimes it helps

Luiz
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
User Avatar
Member
16 posts
Joined: April 2018
Offline
Konstantin Magnus
tmishler
No longer an issue for me.
How did you solve it? And you are on Windows right?

i get the same python error always too. any update on that?
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: Oct. 2012
Offline
Same error like everyone else, any solution?
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: Aug. 2016
Offline
alperenozgur
Konstantin Magnus
tmishler
No longer an issue for me.
How did you solve it? And you are on Windows right?

i get the same python error always too. any update on that?

I have this issue as well.
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: March 2012
Offline
It would be better to make Core-node instead bridge. I made it for Fabric Engine years earlier, it was easy https://vimeo.com/199342334 [vimeo.com]
  • Quick Links