Strange state behavior in Houdini 17

   2646   11   1
User Avatar
Member
538 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
When I create, for example, polyextrude SOP in script I lose the handle after switching to view state. This issue was introduced in H17. Let show a simple example.

This script works well in H16.5, but not in H17:
sop = node.createOutputNode('polyesxtrude::2.0') 
sop.setParms(...
sop.setDisplayFlag(True)
sop.setHighlightFlag(True)
sop.setCurrent(True, True)
viewer.enterCurrentNodeState()

But this works normally in H17:
import soptoolutils
soptoolutils.customStateTool({}, 'polyextrude::2.0')

Why this happens? How to make first script work in H17? Thanks.
Edited by Alexey Vanzhula - Feb. 10, 2019 12:37:52
https://gumroad.com/alexeyvanzhula [gumroad.com]
User Avatar
Member
538 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
Anyone? Please help me. I think adventures with secure selection in H17 broke ability to create nice tools
https://gumroad.com/alexeyvanzhula [gumroad.com]
User Avatar
Member
4189 posts
Joined: June 2012
Offline
Not sure but someone else with dual monitors was having issues with the handles not appearing when using a Dop node and a camera node.
User Avatar
Member
538 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
After execution of this script:

viewer = hou.ui.paneTabOfType(hou.paneTabType.SceneViewer)

viewer.setCurrentState('select') # PROBLEM LINE

sop = viewer.currentNode()
ex = sop.createOutputNode('polyextrude::2.0')
ex.setDisplayFlag(True)
ex.setCurrent(True, True)
viewer.enterCurrentNodeState()

the extrude handle disappear when I press Alt key for going to view state. And I have yellow message in the viewport “Aborting PolyExtrude operation”.
The problem in “select” viewer state.
Why in H16.5 I have no the same result?
Edited by Alexey Vanzhula - Feb. 11, 2019 02:35:05
https://gumroad.com/alexeyvanzhula [gumroad.com]
User Avatar
Member
538 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
goat
Not sure but someone else with dual monitors was having issues with the handles not appearing when using a Dop node and a camera node.

Thanks. But I think, this is a different problem
https://gumroad.com/alexeyvanzhula [gumroad.com]
User Avatar
Member
538 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
Maybe one of SideFX developers can help me? Thanks in advance.
https://gumroad.com/alexeyvanzhula [gumroad.com]
User Avatar
Member
710 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Hi Alexey, I don't know if it's related to your troubles, but I've had all kinds of viewport/modeling related issues with H17. Tools ignoring selections or ignoring the selection until you redo the operation a second time, LMB-selection stops working altogether, marquee selection not doing anything, pre-selection highlighting stops working… all kinds of issues related to the robustness of the viewport, where something works in the beginning of a session, but then fails a while later.

I'll have to submit bug-reports/RFEs when I have time to sit down and try to re-produce these problems.
User Avatar
Member
538 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
Thanks for the answer!
I do not have some of the problems listed by you, but there is a very incomprehensible behavior of the selection tool. It seems that the addition of a new secure selection and(or) a volatile selection gave rise to a lot of problems.
The main problem is a completely different behavior of the selection tool. For example, you cannot delete selected polygons in selection mode until you exit to view state.
These innovations messed up many of my modeling tools
https://gumroad.com/alexeyvanzhula [gumroad.com]
User Avatar
Member
538 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
Let me show a simple example on how this issue works in standard Houdini 17 tools.

1. I have a model
2. Now I activate “Select” tool (arrow icon on the left side) and select some faces
3. Then I select “Duplicate” tool from Tab menu
4. Finally I press Alt key


After pressing the key I have viewport message “Aborting Copy And Transform operation”.

Is it normal? Works just fine in Houdini 16.5
Edited by Alexey Vanzhula - March 8, 2019 03:06:00
https://gumroad.com/alexeyvanzhula [gumroad.com]
User Avatar
Member
44 posts
Joined: Jan. 2017
Offline
I just tried this and after I use Duplicate from hitting the tab key, the gizmo pops up to move, rotate it but not sure why you hit the Alt key. That just allows me to move around the viewport.
User Avatar
Member
45 posts
Joined: Feb. 2014
Offline
I can replicate the abort message, there seems to be some issue with the node's selectors, you should file a bug report. It only seems to happens when the state is first entered, definitely a defect.
User Avatar
Member
538 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
This long time bug was fixed in 17.5.211 build! SESI, thank you a lot! Amazing!
https://gumroad.com/alexeyvanzhula [gumroad.com]
  • Quick Links