Can I use a picture as the button in the otl?

   13948   20   1
User Avatar
Member
288 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Can I use a picture as the button in the otl?
Edited by - April 1, 2009 11:26:05
^_^
User Avatar
Member
7050 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Yes, any image format that Houdini understands will work.
User Avatar
Member
288 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
sorry, I mean, the button…..on the otl… I want to use a picture to instead of the default one.
^_^
User Avatar
Member
701 posts
Joined:
Offline
Edward , do you know how to replace a button paramater with an image instead of the simple grey bar?

that would be awesome , please tell if you do!


cheers

erich
User Avatar
Member
7050 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Ah, sorry, I misread thinking you meant the icon!
User Avatar
Member
288 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
haha… does anyone know it?
^_^
User Avatar
Member
311 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
I don't believe it is possible.
User Avatar
Staff
3445 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
yes it's possible (at least it was back in 6.6.x)
Michael Goldfarb | www.odforce.net
Senior Technical Director
SideFX
www.sidefx.com
User Avatar
Member
311 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
arctor
yes it's possible (at least it was back in 6.6.x)

Um. Anything a little more up to date?

Can't seem to find any obvious options for it in the current HDA layout.
User Avatar
Staff
1042 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
I see nothing in the code to suggest that this is possible.
User Avatar
Member
7050 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Ondrej
I see nothing in the code to suggest that this is possible.

I concur, even for 6.6.X.X … You've probably mistakenly remembered the in-house java apps in use at the time that were launched from within Houdini.
User Avatar
Staff
3445 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
you could be right ed…
been a while…
but I do remember an otl that just had one giant button…can't remember what it did…I guess it must have been some custom foolishness…


carry on…
Michael Goldfarb | www.odforce.net
Senior Technical Director
SideFX
www.sidefx.com
User Avatar
Member
701 posts
Joined:
Offline
rfe ?
User Avatar
Member
288 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
so many people in Canada….-.-!
^_^
User Avatar
Member
34 posts
Joined: Dec. 2008
Offline
What about programming a GUI in python?
User Avatar
Member
49 posts
Joined:
Offline
__PyQt4__
info:http://www.zetcode.com/tutorials/pyqt4/ [zetcode.com]

Attachments:
snapshot.png (119.6 KB)
gui_tabs.py.tar.gz (12.0 KB)

User Avatar
Member
288 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
your attachment can't be downloaded…-.-!


thanks for information, looks very great!
^_^
User Avatar
Member
33 posts
Joined: Oct. 2008
Offline
sorry , how can I put your python in houdini?
User Avatar
Member
33 posts
Joined: Oct. 2008
Offline
python helper nothing?
User Avatar
Member
49 posts
Joined:
Offline
pyqt_helper.py - file from homcookbook:
http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini9.5/hom/cookbook/pyqt/ [sidefx.com]
$HFS/houdini/help/hom/cookbook/pyqt/pyqt_helper.py
put pyqt_helper.py in your houdini9.5/scripts/python directory.
make button on shelf:
(help:http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini9.5/ref/windows/edittool) [sidefx.com] with script, exemple: execfile('/home/andrey/projects/work/scripts/python/gui_tabs.py') - this is my path.
  • Quick Links