How to change the HDRI orientation of the environment map?

8021   2   3
2 posts
This is my first post on Houdini forum, quite exciting.

I started learning Houdini from last December. Before that I took one-week lesson on Maya in 2007, but then never touch any 3D apps again until last Dec. So I think I can say that Houdini is my first real 3D application experience, and it is very interesting learning Houdini.

I made a HDRI test, and this is the result:
http://www.vimeo.com/10496215 [vimeo.com]

I have three questions, and hope someone can kindly give me some suggestions:

Question 1: I can't figure out how to change the orientation of the environment map in chrome material.

Actually the reddish light should come from right side and the blueish from left side.

Using chrome material for torus, I noticed that in Surface Tab -> Reflections Tab -> Environment Map Tab, there is an “Env Map Space”.
After trying to change it to “Use Other Object” and create a null in Scene, there is no reaction when altering the rotation value of the null object.

Using environment light node was tried, but changing the rotation value of environment light doesn't change anything.

I also tried to use light template with VEX Global Illumination node in SHOP. In Irradiance Tab, there is a Null Object operator chooser. I tried to link to the null I created in Scene and there is no reaction as I adjusting the rotation of the null.

Is there anything I did wrong? or I have to change panoramic HDRI orientation instead of adjusting it afterward in Houdini?

Question 2: The reflection pass is strange and not correct.
I guess there maybe some relation with environment light orientation but not very sure.

Question 3: The shadow of the leftmost torus is strange at the moment it fell on the table and stop moving. It looks like the shadow suddenly disappeared. I totally have no idea if it's correct or not, but it looks strange to me.

This is my HDRI workflow: