generate prman ObjectInstance

   4106   7   1
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: Oct. 2007
Offline
Hi!
I want generate object instances for rendering in prman.
If adding Instance properties to points it generate rib like
ArchiveBegin “/obj/teapotobj/points:0”
…..Instance geometry…
ArchiveEnd
….
ReadArchive “/obj/teapotobj/points:0”
….
but needed
ObjectBegin 101
….Instance geometry….
ObjectEnd
….
ObjectInstance 101
….
I found declaration ObjectInstance in RIBapi, but
not found way how use it. Please help.
novice
User Avatar
Member
288 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Maybe you could write it like this to your own DSO something like this :

pipeline : read the particle info with your DSO -> instance your geo onto the particles

RtString *data;
RtBound bound;
RiProcedural(data, bound, RiProcDynamicLoad, freedata)

You can also have a look at “ cluster this ” plugin for houdini.


Hope this helps.

^_^
^_^
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: Oct. 2007
Offline
thanx,
I have hoped to avoid write dso, and create this thru standart pipeline.
novice
User Avatar
Member
48 posts
Joined: Sept. 2006
Offline
I seem, you just need to correct soho-side for such behaviour.
User Avatar
Staff
2590 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
demOOn
Hi!
I want generate object instances for rendering in prman.
If adding Instance properties to points it generate rib like
ArchiveBegin “/obj/teapotobj/points:0”
…..Instance geometry…
ArchiveEnd
….
ReadArchive “/obj/teapotobj/points:0”
….
but needed
ObjectBegin 101
….Instance geometry….
ObjectEnd
….
ObjectInstance 101
….
I found declaration ObjectInstance in RIBapi, but
not found way how use it. Please help.

You can use the RenderMan Delayed Read Archive SHOP.

1) Put down an instance object.
2) Turn on point instancing
3) Assign the DRA SHOP to the object you are instancing

An alternative to (3) is to put down a material SOP in your instance
object, and set its “Attributes” to “point” (assigning a material per
point), then assign the DRA material onto the points. This would let
you change the DRA on a per-point basis (if you didn't want to
instance teapots at all instances.

Oh, for numeric instance id's, you'll have to turn off the
“stringhandle” feature (see the SOHO python files).
User Avatar
Member
288 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
^_^
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: Oct. 2007
Offline
JoeMislang
I seem, you just need to correct soho-side for such behaviour.
I didn't found behaviour for custom properties.
If adding properties ‘ptinstance’ it starting mechanism in RIBgeo.
But inside it using ‘instance’…
I don't understand how it should work.
For example:
I create properties calling ‘rmaninstance’, attaching to points.
How I would read it in RIBgeo? Or not RIBgeo?
novice
User Avatar
Member
288 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
:shock:
^_^
  • Quick Links