Linux install possible on laptop with out iNet connection?

5116   8   1
5 posts
Hello everyone.

I've installed houdini on Redhat 9. I've searched on this forum and followed the advice in many threads. Here's what I'm doing:

I go into the installation directory.
Export the LD_ASSUME_KERNEL variable with a value of 2.4.1
Run hkey.

Hkey is unable to contact the server.

Using “ps -A”, I see that I do have one process of sesinetd running.
“sesctrl -i” cannot connect to the server.

Following the examples in many threads, I've modified my /etc/hosts file to something like:

127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
127.0.0.1 keith

And as in one thread, someone had also modified /etc/sysconfig/network (or so) to refer to what is on the second line (it was blackdown, so I made mine keith, my name)

In all other threads, the person had a valid internet connection and so an ip. I'm a bit new to linux, though not afraid to try anything, so please help me with this problem.

I do have a server code. I've tried changing the server name in the licence manager.

“ping localhost” says that the network is down.
“netstat -rn” shows no connections.
“ifup eth0” gives me an error about being unable to start the device.

My network setup tools in redhat, launched from the kde menu, do not seem to be functioning and I do not know the command line equivalents. I do not know any way to ensure if the ethernet card which I have, is detected. I'll try checking the boot time messages as soon as I have a chance.

Please help.
225 posts
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
127.0.0.1 keith

192.168.0.1 keith
5 posts
Nope. That doesn't work. Is that IP a loop back as well?

Is there more information I should provide?
225 posts
thats your static IP

you should not install houdini against a loopback

not sure I can be of more help, could be anything
5 posts
But I don't have a static nor a dynamic ip (will 0.0.0.0 work?) because the laptop is never connected to the internet.
225 posts