Houdini To 3dsmax

   5833   11   1
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: April 2013
Offline
Hello Everybody

can someone tell me how to export Houdini's particles to 3dsmax.

Thanks
NAIT ZLAY
User Avatar
Member
7183 posts
Joined: July 2007
Online
back in the days I was using realflow plugins to exchange data, maybe now there is more options, but if you have access to them then they work nicely
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: April 2013
Offline
tamte
back in the days I was using realflow plugins to exchange data, maybe now there is more options, but if you have access to them then they work nicely

ah ok i see , thanks you , but i hop we have others options to do it.
NAIT ZLAY
edward
Member
7284 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
My knowledge is very sparse here but can you do it through krakatoa .prt files? see for example: http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=172&page=viewtopic&p=130380&highlight&sid=684e4257a156f45852a9dc07c68086c7 [sidefx.com]

I think that page also mentioned Alembic, but I'm not sure if 3ds max supports alembic yet.
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: April 2013
Offline
edward
My knowledge is very sparse here but can you do it through krakatoa .prt files? see for example: http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_forum&Itemid=172&page=viewtopic&p=130380&highlight&sid=684e4257a156f45852a9dc07c68086c7 [sidefx.com]

I think that page also mentioned Alembic, but I'm not sure if 3ds max supports alembic yet.

hmm..interesting.im looking for the realflow houdini13 plugin.. i think thats not exist yet . :cry:
NAIT ZLAY
User Avatar
Member
11 posts
Joined: Sept. 2013
Offline
alembic should be works perfectly.
Senior Houdini Effects Technical Director @ Weta Digital
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: April 2013
Offline
Ivan Pulido Suarez
alembic should be works perfectly.

You did it ?
NAIT ZLAY
User Avatar
Member
84 posts
Joined: May 2012
Offline
alembic only works if you have a plugin in max to read the alembic. Crate from Exocortex works pretty good. If you can't afford the plugin, the prt exporter works fine too.. although i think you need to have Krakatoa in max..
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: April 2013
Offline
robonilla
alembic only works if you have a plugin in max to read the alembic. Crate from Exocortex works pretty good. If you can't afford the plugin, the prt exporter works fine too.. although i think you need to have Krakatoa in max..

ok, i see , but i dont think that we have a PRT exporter for H13 ?
NAIT ZLAY
User Avatar
Member
84 posts
Joined: May 2012
Offline
As Edward pointed above this guys developed one,

https://github.com/FictionIO/PRTRop [github.com]

The compiled version there worked for 12.5 as well, you would have to try it on 13 or probably compile or ask someone who can compile it for 13.
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: April 2013
Offline
robonilla
As Edward pointed above this guys developed one,

https://github.com/FictionIO/PRTRop [github.com]

The compiled version there worked for 12.5 as well, you would have to try it on 13 or probably compile or ask someone who can compile it for 13.


ah , Nice , thanks
NAIT ZLAY
User Avatar
Member
12 posts
Joined: April 2013
Offline
robonilla
As Edward pointed above this guys developed one,

https://github.com/FictionIO/PRTRop [github.com]

The compiled version there worked for 12.5 as well, you would have to try it on 13 or probably compile or ask someone who can compile it for 13.

i find an officiel one : https://github.com/ThinkboxSoftware/HoudiniPRTExporter [github.com]

but still not for H13
NAIT ZLAY
  • Quick Links