Search - User list
Full Version: "Show Values" equivalent in Houdini?
Root » SI Users » "Show Values" equivalent in Houdini?
fuat
hello forum,
being an absolute noob in Houdini:
in ICE you have this great debugging funtionality where you can just RMB on a connection/wire and choose “show values”, which shows the corresponding attribute (any kind of - vectors, colors, arrays, floats, whatever) in the viewport.
see two examples here:
http://xsisupport.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/parametric-cloud-without-repeats.png [xsisupport.files.wordpress.com]
http://xsisupport.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/random-polygon-index-for-extrude-polygon-island.png [xsisupport.files.wordpress.com]
(the small circled V on the connection refers to the values in the viewport).
is there something like that in VOPSOPS?

the only thing i could get working so far is to create a basic attrib like a vector and set it in the display settings.
or am i wrong or missing something obvious?

thanks.
fuat

great forum by the way.
anon_user_37409885
that's it

It's a good RFE, request feature enhancement in the Support menu above.
animatrix_
+1

This would be nice to have. If you created geometry in VOPs, it could be done to an extent for some attribute types but then that geometry would become part of the input geometry. That's why we should also have temporary VOP-level guides. Instead of geoself(), you could have geoguide() or something.

I submitted an RFE for this.
fuat
thank you pusat.
fuat
old_school
It's a printf VOP but with it's output in the viewport?

What if you have a million points?
sekow
jeff

in ICE there is an option to display just a percentage of the whole data set.
pezetko
Or limit visualisation of values only to selected components.
takita
I'm also a fan of displaying only attributes for “selected points”.

-T
malexander
Or limit visualisation of values only to selected components.