3d pixelation effect

12096   19   2
6 posts
Hi! I am completely new to houdini, the reason why I am trying it out is that I am trying to produce an effect I find difficult(or impossible?) With other 3d softwares.

What I am trying do is a sort of pixelated effect in 3d. Basicly an actors face wil slowly become more and more pixelated. This I am thinking solving in the following way:
1. Build a 3d replica of his face in 3d using imagebased modelling.

2. Match this to the footage including the movements of facial features such as jaw.

3. use this replica as a base to produce boxes filling the space of the replica face. I want theese boxes to be "static to their own positions so if the jaw moves for example the boxes will not move but ne ones will be created in the space where the jaw enters. The boxes will however follow the movements of the head in space.

4. I want these boxes to take the color of the avarage of underlying pixels of the texturemap on the replica head.

Does thet make any sense?

I am sure that this effect is doable in houdini but I dont have any idea where to start. Should i go for particles or some modeling approach?

any ideas out there?

ludvig
hej & h& & en flaska me rom!
4140 posts
Is there a reason you don't want to do this in 2D with a pixelation filter? Pixelation, by definition, is a 2D based concept anyway…

Cheers,

J.C.
John Coldrick
2199 posts
Given that you do have a good reason to do this in 3d.

How about using a box with divisions turned on, parented to whatever you are tracking your head with. Use an add sop to turn it into points, and a group sop with group by bounding object, using the head model to create an animated cloud of points that are inside the head. Then finally follow this up with a copy sop and copy another box to this group of points.
The trick is finding just the right hammer for every screw
6 posts
Wow!
I am very impessed with how fast you answered my question, thanks!