Background Render (ROP Output Driver etc.)

   6027   8   1
User Avatar
Member
32 posts
Joined: Dec. 2014
Offline
Hi Guys,

I've searched but had no luck trying to figure out the Background Render option on the ROP output driver / DOP I/O node. I just can't get it to process anything. If I render the same thing with the regular render button it pumps out a sequence of Bgeo files - no problem.

Is there any trick to get this bad boy working?

Seems like it would be awesome to have this caching while I continue to work in Houdini.

Any help would be much appreciated
Edited by - April 12, 2015 18:42:14
Kind Regards,

Ben
User Avatar
Member
2624 posts
Joined: Aug. 2006
Offline
Works fine on OSX 14.0.292

Rob
Gone fishing
User Avatar
Member
32 posts
Joined: Dec. 2014
Offline
circusmonkey
Works fine on OSX 14.0.292

Rob

This is weird! Is this possibly an Indie limitation?

Would anyone mind opening up this test file and checking if the Background Render feature is working?

Doesn't work on my PC

Thanks so much.

Attachments:
BG_render.hiplc (232.3 KB)

Kind Regards,

Ben
User Avatar
Member
2624 posts
Joined: Aug. 2006
Offline
Changed your file path to something sensible and it works fine

Rob
Gone fishing
User Avatar
Member
32 posts
Joined: Dec. 2014
Offline
Thanks for checking it Rob, new build works wonders
Kind Regards,

Ben
User Avatar
Member
21 posts
Joined: July 2015
Offline
Hi Guys! I'm having the same issue here. I'm using build 14.0.361.
What do you mean by use a sensible name path?
Thanks in advance for helping!

Attachments:
testBGRENDER.hip (108.4 KB)

User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
I'm having this issue as well. Houdini Indie 15.0.416 on Windows 10.

After clicking “Save to Disk in Background”, the job will appear in the list, and register as completed, but no cache files will be created or saved.

EDIT: Submitted an RFE - Bug (ID=75471)
Edited by Luke Letellier - May 17, 2016 16:26:58
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
SideFx support helped me figure out the issue: If the file paths for your files have a space between words, hbatch will not run and your background render won't do anything.

So if your file path is similar to #1, you need to remove the space between the words to look like #2:


1. /MyCompany/Client/Project Name/Houdini/renders/MySim_$F4.bgeo.sc
2. /MyCompany/Client/Project_Name/Houdini/renders/MySim_$F4.bgeo.sc


The same is true for the location of your HIP file itself; make sure the path doesn't contain any spaces between words.

SideFx is planning to fix this inconsistency, but it's probably a good practice for us to adapt our files paths in such a manner anywho.
Edited by Luke Letellier - May 19, 2016 09:58:00
User Avatar
Member
32 posts
Joined: Dec. 2014
Offline
Luke Letellier
SideFx support helped me figure out the issue: If the file paths for your files have a space between words, hbatch will not run and your background render won't do anything.

So if your file path is similar to #1, you need to remove the space between the words to look like #2:


1. /MyCompany/Client/Project Name/Houdini/renders/MySim_$F4.bgeo.sc
2. /MyCompany/Client/Project_Name/Houdini/renders/MySim_$F4.bgeo.sc


The same is true for the location of your HIP file itself; make sure the path doesn't contain any spaces between words.

SideFx is planning to fix this inconsistency, but it's probably a good practice for us to adapt our files paths in such a manner anywho.

Thanks for that info Luke, appreciate it
Kind Regards,

Ben
  • Quick Links