Cop ramp question

5384   3   0
313 posts
I am a CG student. I tried to input a ramp from Cop into my texture vop
opimg/img1/ramp1

the node turned yellow and said “cannot have channels which depend on time”.

I tried to import the ramp (from Cop) to both vex shader and rman shader but both nodes turned yellow. does not work!

Does anyone know why? pls help
4140 posts
There's a fundamental concept you might be missing: when you're working on shaders in VOPs, what you are essentially doing is writing a program, which will need to be compiled, and then called at render time. You can't integrate all the other aspects of Houdini(like animated channels, cop outputs, etc.) directly into the source code because when it comes time to (internally) write out the code for compilation…what does it put for those elements? It needs to be immutable stuff like float and colour inputs, as opposed to pointers to things that can easily animate. Now, once compiled, you can make a SHOP(which is an instance of the compiled shader), and *that* can have references to anything you want…since it's evaluated at render time. Hopefully that's not too obscure. It's like Slim(if you've ever used it) - it sort of lives “alone” in it's own world. You need to put the hooks in your shader to accept that input for evaluation at render time.

So, without knowing exactly what you're doing, here's a guess at how you could approach your challenge: MMB over the Texture Map input of your Texture Map VOP, select Parameter. This will dynamically add a tmap field to any SHOP instances of this shader. Once you've assigned the VEX shader to an object, it's SHOP will have a paramter that you can reference. You can put your op: reference in there, and it works fine. It's worth pointing out that referencing images directly from COPs into shaders might give you aliasing issues, since what you really want is a rat image, which maps the best. Fine for exploring/testing though.