What happened to the bridge SOP (Not polybridge)

3731   7   3
948 posts
I know that the new poly bridge is awesome but what happened to the old bridge SOP, the one that allowed me to make a connection between nurbs trimmed surfaces or nurbs profiles?

How am I supposed to do it now?

Thanks!
https://vimeo.com/user2163076 [vimeo.com]
948 posts
Anyone?
1192 posts
It seems to be deprecated. Still exists, but not shown in the menu.
Check the “OPcustomize” file in the /houdini folder of your installation and comment the line:
opdeprecate -r “polybridge” 15.0 Sop bridge
Dragos Stefan
producer + director @ www.dsg.ro
www.dragosstefan.ro
948 posts
Cool!

Off course I would prefer to do this kind of operation in nurbs without using deprecated tools if it was possible.

Anyway thanks for the tip!
7 posts
I'm just learning Houdini (have used Max, Maya, Modo, Rhino and SolidWorks over the years) and would also like to know how you are supposed to do this in the current version of Houdini (15.565) as it is?

First I was looking for a way to extract the trimmed curves so I could loft them but couldn't find a way to do that?
Then I found this post…
Is NURBS modelling slowly being “deprecated”?

If a solids modelling type workflow would make its way into Houdini I would quite possibly be in heaven! Just saying
1743 posts
I don't think it's a secret that zero development effort is currently devoted to NURBS surface modelling.

Subdivision surfaces are much easier to work with. They also have many fewer fundamental mathematical and structural hurdles to overcome, (e.g. subdivision surfaces automatically stay connected as you deform the points, whereas NURBS don't, so you have to recompute NURBS bridging every frame), so they're also easier to make tools for, although not many have actually been made to so directly replace things like trim curves yet by trimming in uv space. That said, it's pretty easy to do many NURBS-like things with subdivision surfaces already.