Everything is in Wireframe mode

   1680   6   1
User Avatar
Member
4 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Hi everybody,

I just installed houdini 15.5.570 and every display mode (flat shaded, smooth shaded, …) is in wireframe in the viewport. please help.
neil_math_comp
Member
1743 posts
Joined: March 2012
Offline
What operating system, operating system version, graphics card, and graphics driver version are you running? There are a lot of problems with bugs in graphics drivers on Mac, depending on the card.
Writing code for fun and profit since... 2005? Wow, I'm getting old.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_HFmdvpe9U2G3OMNViKMEQ [www.youtube.com]
User Avatar
Member
4 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Windows7,GTX980,Niviada. If I change the shader type to the other options it stays in wire frame except hidden Line Ghost. All the others the objects are a bright yellow wire frame. I put Pyro flames on a sphere and I can see the effect if I put it on the different shaders, WEIRD. Don't know, I am a VFX student and have been using Maya and Zbrush. Was stoked to learn this program…..
neil_math_comp
Member
1743 posts
Joined: March 2012
Offline
Strange. What's your graphics driver version? Nvidia on Windows tends to be one of the most reliable combinations graphics-wise, and a GTX980 is a plenty good enough card, though it might be a particular cut of the driver that's the issue. I'll ask the viewport graphics expert if he's ever seen something like this.

It could be something completely different, like some strange setting somewhere, but since you're just starting out, I'm guessing it's unlikely you've configured stuff a ton.
Writing code for fun and profit since... 2005? Wow, I'm getting old.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_HFmdvpe9U2G3OMNViKMEQ [www.youtube.com]
User Avatar
Member
4 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Yeah I haven't done any custom configuration. I downloaded it, opened it and got frustated uninstalled it and same issue.
neil_math_comp
Member
1743 posts
Joined: March 2012
Offline
What's your graphics driver version?

The viewport graphics expert says he hasn't heard of this before, but that driver version 370 has been known to mess up the entire UI. He says this case is probably the driver messing up when compile the GLSL shaders. There may or may not be some way to work around it, but your driver version is needed in order to be able to test anything.
Writing code for fun and profit since... 2005? Wow, I'm getting old.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_HFmdvpe9U2G3OMNViKMEQ [www.youtube.com]
User Avatar
Member
4 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Intel HD graphics 4600, NVIDIA Geforce GTX980. I hope there is a work around I would like to have this program on my personal computer so I can study it. Thank you for your help.
  • Quick Links