Big issue in point group definition - cannot add point to group

2946   9   1
19 posts
Hello everyone, I'm new to houdini, and now i'm learning a DT tutorial whose name is Creating Your Own Custom Pyro FX in Houdini. In lesson 12 it's mainly goal is to first create a group defined by a transferred attribute, than run a looped process which search the adjacent points of this group, and add them to it until the group contains all points of the object. When I'm practicing it I encountered some difficult issues:

1. The group, whose name is fuelgrp doesn't exist before the simulation progress, so it has to be created by an set attribute node in the vop which embraced in the solver SOP. But the set attribute node doen't work.

2. Trying to solve this I pre-defined it by using a group SOP before the simulation, but because of at the start frame there's 0 point within it so therefore it still unable to join the simulation and no points were add into it till the last frame, no matter whether I use the solver SOP or a DOP network with pointCloudOpen vop node.

I've tried all methods I know but none of it works. BTW I'm using houdini 15 and the tutorial was made by houdini 12. I've already substituted some of the vop nodes based on h12 by h15 nodes. Now I upload my exercise files for u, please take a look ant help me to point our what is going wrong. Thank u very much!!!
Edited by Terryjin_314 - Oct. 20, 2016 21:26:22
1743 posts
Can you try attaching the files again? It looks like they didn't show up. (Also, I deleted your duplicate post, which also didn't seem to have your files, in case you were wondering.)
Writing code for fun and profit since... 2005? Wow, I'm getting old.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_HFmdvpe9U2G3OMNViKMEQ [www.youtube.com]
19 posts
ndickson
Can you try attaching the files again? It looks like they didn't show up. (Also, I deleted your duplicate post, which also didn't seem to have your files, in case you were wondering.)