Slower sim performance due animated values. (Suction Force : Outside Distance)

1811   4   1
15 posts
I am new to houdini and yesterday I followed the tutorial for the new suction force. What I noticed was when I was using a higher volume resolution (inside the suctiontarget) for the target geometry and animate the outside distance value like in the video. I get a much slower simulation performance even when the value isn't moving.

Example:
The outside distance value is 1 for the whole duration of the simulation and it'll take around 1 min to go through 120 frames.
Now I just put some keyframe on the outside distance value.
Value is @ 1 for the first 40 frames and than goes from 1 to 0.5 during frame 41-60. The sim will take around 2 minutes now. This happens with OpenCl and without.

Even after the sim with when the sim files are still in memory (blue timeline) scrubbing through the first 60 frames is slow.

Anybody know what could be the cause of this?

Kind regards,
Ralph
Staff
6189 posts
This sounds like a VEX-based DOP node is becoming animated and being rebuilt every frame. This causes it to lose binding information and pay a high overhead cost per cook. The good news is that if this is the case, the slow down will not scale with your sim. If you make your sim a 1 hour sim rather than 1 min sim, you may still only have the 1 min of overhead.

However, it would be good to find out what is going on, so if you have can provide a .hip file that demonstrates it, I would appreciate it.
15 posts
Thanks for the response jlait. What I noticed after rebuilding the scene is that it is the suctiontarget(collision source) node that is responsible for the slow down. It is cooking every frame even when no value change is occurring during the animation (e.g value of 1 during the first 40). The lower the voxel size the larger the slow down.

I attached two files. 1 with animated values and one without. Hopefully that helps.

Attachments:
suction_not_animated.hipnc (1.7 MB)