Search - User list
Full Version: How to preserve Multi Sub Object Material ID Order with Alembic Export
Root » Technical Discussion » How to preserve Multi Sub Object Material ID Order with Alembic Export
Qwertzus
Hi there!
Do you guys have an idea how to preserve the order of my Material ID's when I export my Alembic file back to 3ds Max?
I need this for a building destruction simulation later on. I'm quite new in Houdini.

In Max I created a building and applied a multi sub object material with 20 materials and named them _1, _2, _3, _4 … (According to this video: https://vimeo.com/113366813). [vimeo.com]

Then I imported the Alembic file in Houdini and unpacked it. The object consists of the exact amount of prim groups that I had previously created as materials. And the prim groups are correctly applied and named.

But then it comes: when I export my model back to max, the face IDs are basically correct but the id numbers are totally messed up when I apply the previous multi sub object material.

How can I tell Houdini to export the face ID's in the correct order or what do I need to do? Is there another better workflow maybe?

Thank you very much in advance!
vertexunited
+1
freelancer_4d
+1. Any body now how fix this problem ?!). thnx
Qwertzus
Hi, I solved it.

The solution is to create single objects according to every single Material ID in the Multi/Sub-Object Material.
For example: You have an object with 5 Material IDs and a matching Multi/Sub-Object Material with 5 Slots. Detach all faces which have the same ID and name the new object like the material ID.

Object with 5 IDs means 5 detached objects: 001, 002, 003, 004, 005.
It's important to preserve the correct order as in the Multi/Sub-Object Material.
001 has Slot 1
002 has Slot 2
003 has Slot 3

You can automatize this process with several maxscripts (Scriptspot).

Then select all numbered objects and export them as Alembic.

In Houdini Alembic SOP check “Load As -> Unpack Alembic..”