VDB detection for fliptank collision fails?

3033   7   0
15 posts
Hello professionals,

I'm a newbie to Houdini FX and recently I'm trying to do a boat simulation but there is a problem I'm face and going through the nets doesn't help me much so I'm asking for help here instead.

I made custom VDB so I can use it for the deforming object shelf tool on my boat and changing the proxy volume, as I checked on the blue guide lines for the collision on the static solver itself and it shows customized VDB completely. After that confirming my own customized VDB seems to work and I head over to the guidedoceanlayer to check on the actual collision to final confirm my collision but the problem here is..

Half of the customized VDB is there but the rest are extruded up til the end of the bounding box of my wavetank simulation size. I had never extruded from my own customized VDB and it looks really fine in the static solver guide lines.

How do I fix this? I had been through some tutorials all I kept having the same problem. Is it my boat making this problem? Thanks for answering and guidance.

/Conan
Edited by ConanJipLoveCats - June 14, 2017 05:32:44
2531 posts
When viewing the collision layer guide you only see where the collision is currently occurring. If the FLIP does not touch the other parts of your boat then there is no collision so it is not represented in the viewport.

There is no fix needed, this is normal operation. You can confirm this by submerging your boat into the tank. You should see your entire collision surface.
Using Houdini Indie 20.0
Windows 11 64GB Ryzen 16 core.
nVidia 3050RTX 8BG RAM.
15 posts
Enivob
When viewing the collision layer guide you only see where the collision is currently occurring. If the FLIP does not touch the other parts of your boat then there is no collision so it is not represented in the viewport.