Fully transparent BSDF?

1996   6   0
32 posts
I'm trying to write a particular shader “from the ground up” as a learning exercise. I'm an old-school graphics programmer but just learning VEX and VOPs. Using Houdini 16.5.

My question is this: the BSDF is an opaque type. There's a few VOPs/VEX functions to create one, “diffuse” and a few others. I'm looking for the “noop” BSDF, that just always returns the incident ray – i.e. fully transparent, no refraction or opacity or anything. I'd like it to be really fast.

The reason I'm asking is I want to write a shader which is emissive-only. I know how to export Ce, but I'm stuck on creating the “noop” F. Right now I'm using pbrglass with ior set to 1 which works, but when I look at the VEX code I can see it's doing a lot more work than I need (i.e. it's calling get_bsdf(“phong”)).

Any advice appreciated!
7762 posts
the no op bsdf is
bsdf()

check out shaderlayer.h for an example of a noop bsdf

Edit:
To elaborate, a bsdf in mantra does not determine opacity or emissivity. To do that you need to make a complete surface shader. The Of export sets opacity, an the Ce export sets emission.
Edited by jsmack - Nov. 22, 2017 19:47:55
32 posts
jsmack
the no op bsdf is
bsdf()

check out shaderlayer.h for an example of a noop bsdf

True – I found that. But that bsdf reflects all incoming energy randomly in a hemisphere around the normal, as far as I can tell; i.e. it's perfectly diffuse with zero transmission. I'm looking for a (fast) bsdf that takes all incoming energy and continues it (“refracts” it) through the object in the same direction, i.e. the ideal transparent object. I understand I can set Of to 0 but that's not what the glass shader does, for instance. (Again, as far as I can tell – I could very well be wrong.) I would expect (hope?) such a bsdf to be even faster than the bsdf() one you mention above, since it doesn't need to randomize anything.
8548 posts
garyo