How to use (as opposed to create) a z-depth map with Mantra?

4320   6   1
146 posts
I have a render plus a depth map created in other software - where / how do I plug it into Mantra (and set the black/white distances) so it knows when to occlude stuff? I need to add clouds/fog to an existing render.

Sorry, I'm sure this is ultra-basic, but googling only seems to bring up how to create depth maps, not how to use them within Houdini.

It's just plain ole' Z-depth (EXR sequence), not a DCM.
69 posts
Not sure if I understand your need but why not occlude your clouds/fog render in comp stage instead of rendering it with the provided ZDepth pass?

Unless you're outputting deep data which I have no experience yet but it allows for the flexibility of merging objects and volumetric seamlessly without using holdout matte for the volumetric render.

I'll suggest to use directional lights to setup the BG and FG passes for the volumetric render and merge it in comp. This way you can tweak the intensity of either BG/FG passes without rendering again.

This is how I did for various fog shots in production although in Maya instead of Houdini.
Edited by huey_yeng - Jan. 24, 2018 05:14:06
146 posts
> why not occlude your clouds/fog render in comp stage instead of rendering it with the provided ZDepth pass?

That's a different effect though - while it'll work fine for homogenous fog, the moment you have any 3D detail in your clouds, and a moving camera, simple occlusion / luma-matting doesn't work any more. The perspective'll break - while a still may look fine, objects in the middle distance will have elements of the furthest cloud appearing over them. Move the camera and it'll look wrong.

Trouble is, I can do this simply enough with other tools, but I want to use Houdini because of course I do.

It may not be possible: Houdini is big boyz toys, and I dare say the ethos is “go DCM or go home”, but I've gotta ask.

Quick example of how it works in other packages: I have a render -