houdini 2 unity $F point color?

3826   13   1
217 posts
Hi,
I'm new to unity but all tutorials looks so easy;o)
I hope someone can help me. Houdini and Unity the latest versions.
1) simple asset in Houdini OK
2) importing into unity OK
3) I animate some spheres to color another geo

But nothing happens. The only thing I animate a filter expression in a delete Sop ($F-1== ($PT%8))
What can I do?

Thanks for help.

Detlef
Edited by winkel - March 26, 2018 10:31:24

Attachments:
test_pipes.hda (33.9 KB)

571 posts
There is no direct way to drive frame-based animation to an HDA via Unity, as you want. What you can do instead is to replace the $F with another parameter that you expose on the HDA. Then from UI or code you can change that parameter, recook, and the baked geo will have the updated vertex colours.

The performance-friendly way to do this is to simply have a shader that updates vertex colours based on time or some other animation-driven value. This is more on the Unity side of things than Houdini Engine. What is it that you are trying to achieve via Houdini?
217 posts
Hi Seelanv,
I'm working on some augmented reality things for my customers and use Houdini to import big models. I wrote some python scripts to reduce the model and need to illustrate warm and cold water with blue/red pipes with a texture that shows the flowing directions.
Because I worked with Houdini since Prisms, it's my choice of doing such things;o)
But thanks for your ideas. I will try to change the vertex colours in unity.
Have a nice day
Detlef
217 posts
Hi again,
can't find a solution for me, because all tutorials and examples worked with different versions
I've used the latest game tools in Houdini but can't find the shaders used in the examples… f.e. where can I put my pos file, that was made by the “vertex_animation_texture” tool?
So I have to find my own way?
Detlef
Edited by winkel - March 27, 2018 03:28:39
217 posts
Hi,

If anyone can help me - please!

1) getting an error: