Search - User list
Full Version: A few questions about picking up Houdinifx!
Root » Houdini Lounge » A few questions about picking up Houdinifx!
blbrown2
Hi everyone, I have a few questions/seeking some advice. I’m fairly new to 3D modeling, Motion Graphics and VFX. I started using Cinema 4D and have been slowly learning and came across Houdini and what it can offer. To be honest, it looks amazing! Should I be looking to develop a more concrete background in this field before adding Houdini to my tool set, or is it okay to jump right in?
goldfarb
Houdini Apprentice is free and can do everything that HoudiniFX can do - so I'd say grab Apprentice and see how you like it.
r-cite
This book here is free of charge and has helped me a lot https://www.sidefx.com/tutorials/houdini-foundations-book/ [www.sidefx.com] as well as https://www.sidefx.com/learn/ [www.sidefx.com]

Enjoy.
Midphase
blbrown2
Should I be looking to develop a more concrete background in this field before adding Houdini to my tool set, or is it okay to jump right in?

Prepare yourself for a decent amount of frustration at first as you try to wrap your head around the simple stuff. Houdini is somewhat unusual in the sense that some things that are relatively simple to accomplish in other apps like Maya or C4D can be quite difficult to achieve at first, while things that are considered highly advanced can actually be accomplished very easily with Shelf Tools.

It's a fun ride, but it's not for everyone!
Konstantin Magnus
I am personally more convinced of learning the basics properly in a more accessible program
and then - when you know what things should look like - switch to automating procedures in Houdini.
jsmack