Interface Problem

   4893   6   1
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: June 2006
Offline
Hello,
I wanted to try Houdini under Ubuntu, the installation went allright, but when I am lauching Houdini, the interface looks black (I am attaching a screenshot).

Can somebody please help ? Here comes my specs :

Ubuntu Dapper 32 bits
Athlon X2 64bits
ATI X1900XTX PCIE 512 Mo
driver fglrx given by apt-get

here comes what I got in the console when I close houdini :

X11 Error (168): BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device
X11 Error (168): BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device
X11 Error (168): BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device
*** glibc detected *** free(): invalid pointer: 0x080edaf8 ***

Thanks for your help

Attachments:
snapshot2.png (90.0 KB)

User Avatar
Member
65 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Basically, the rgb.txt file is not where it should be for this version of houdini or the location
has been changed by X (Xorg).
The way I resolved this problem was by finding the rgb.txt file
and copying it into my $HOME/houdini8.1/ or was it my /opt/hfs81…..

So I simply did this

1) cd /
2) find . -print | grep -i rgb.txt

eventually it should print out something like “/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb.txt”,
you can then simply..

3) cp /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb.txt $HOME/houdini8.1/

That should do it… (if not, copy the same file into the houdini install home, eg /opt/hfs81../)



Good luck..
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: June 2006
Offline
Man, you rock

Works like a charm, thanks
User Avatar
Member
65 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
no problem…

Enjoy..
User Avatar
Member
508 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
I just gave a try on Fedora Core 5 on a new Hard drive I had available for this “test” (I currently run FC4 with full satisfaction.. but I love the upgrades.. ) and.. with no tricks at all it runs pretty well.

After installing FC5.. and couple of “yum update” .. I installed the ATI proprietary drivers…

Xorg 7.. drivers 8.26.18 .. everything fine.. no black GUI….

BUT.. I cant maximixe the window to full screen … I already found this problem on this forum.. but it seems i can get that thread back … anybody have an answer for that?… I'm still back on FC4 .. but I seriously wish to spend my next week on the new fresh install

cheers.
JcN
VisualCortexLab Ltd :: www.visualcortexlab.com
User Avatar
Member
508 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
forget it… i just found the “maximize” thread.. sorry.
JcN
VisualCortexLab Ltd :: www.visualcortexlab.com
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: Jan. 2006
Offline
Thanks! This solved it for me too!
  • Quick Links