Search - User list
Full Version: Multiple UV Sets in Alembic files exported from Maya
Root » Technical Discussion » Multiple UV Sets in Alembic files exported from Maya
MatthiasB
Hi there,

Can someone please help me figure out how to view and edit UVs from an Alembic file? I'm having the hardest time figuring this out and I'm getting nowhere. I'm quite new to Houdini so please bear with me.

Specifically I'm interested in editing the UVs from a secondary UV Set and then re-exporting the Alembic file with the new UV layout of that Set. How hard can this be, right?

I'm including two sample files - one Alembic the other FBX (both should represent the same data).
The FBX file seems to work fine, I can view both UV Sets and edit both just fine in Houdini (except that the correct name of the UV Set doesn't appear to transfer correctly - should be “uvSet” is “uv2” ..no matter).

Although it appears that the FBX file works fine, our asset pipeline is built around using Alembic files so creating special intermediate FBX files to just edit UVs is a very last and unwanted option.

Comparing both files (see screenshots) the one thing I notice, but can't seem to edit or change, is the fact that extra UV Set is “2flt” in the Alembic file but “3flt” in the FBX. That being normal or not, I gather Houdini can't display the UV's in “UV View” (or wants to register them as such) unless the data is in “3flt”, correct?

But no matter what I try - I just can't seem to change these attributes (copy, create, promote, swap, transfer, whatever) for Houdini to understand.

I've google'd around quite a bit but come across nothing that helps me solve this issue without applying a major Science Degree, what's up with that?
Is there a way to do this (edit Alembic UVs) without any fancy pants Python or VEX solutions …just using the built in nodes?

Any help much appreciated,
cheers!
martinkindl83
Second uv set needs to be called uv2 (uv3, uv4, …), plus it needs to be vector3