Move to Renderman?

1107   2   2
146 posts
Hi!
I’m a former software engineer and now working as an architectural photographer. I’ve been always attracted to the 3d world and started learning Houdini (because of its procedural nature) a year ago for some “artistic” explorations, related to light and material in the most photorealistic way possible. Pretty hard but rewarding experience by now.
But I’m in some sort of crossroad now as my first serious tests are showing me Mantra, as unidirectional pathtracer, struggles to render the type of images I’m creating (think mostly closed spaces with very indirect light).
Then I researched about Renderman and its bidirectional path tracer that could make my task a lot easier but I’m afraid I don’t know what I’ll be missing or losing from not learning Mantra further. I have to note I’ve started learning to make my own shaders using VOP and don’t know how capable is Renderman in that sense.

I won’t earn money from this on the short time so I’m looking for no-cost solutions, And GPU based solutions are not a choice for me as my workstation is CPU-based. But I don’t rule out learning others engines in apprentice mode, such as the watermarked Arnold.

I’m very interested in your experiences and opinions on this topic.
Thanks!
7755 posts
Renderman is a very capable renderer, however I've found since it is lacking a shading language, recreating even simple mantra vop networks is frustratingly complicated as most simple mathematically operations have no analog (add subtract multiply divide, etc). True OSL shaders can be used for some of these roles, however it is missing any pattern generation capabilities such as noise which makes it mostly useless as anything other than a ‘math box’. It also adds a layer of abstraction which makes the network more complicated that it would be with mantra.