Search - User list
Full Version: New to Houdini (Nth time)
Root » Houdini Learning Materials » New to Houdini (Nth time)
Maxster
Hello,
I am a 3ds Max user.I mostly do Fx stuffs. Been trying to learn Houdini on and off, couldn't continue the learning process because of the frustrations and doubts. I know a lot of people like me had similar queries, So my apologies for one more…

I tried a fair amount of tutorials in the past,the roadblocks were the “scripts/expressions”,from one liners to a string of those. I don't have any sort of “scripts/expressions” knowledge, so when it comes to the aspects of applying those without knowing is not so satisfying, I mean copying the given expressions from those tutorials and applying just to get past the tutorial without knowing what I am doing has been the issue.

So my request to you Houdini Jedis is to give me a nudge in the right direction. As I said before I have no programming knowledge at all, So what kind of programming languages do I need to look in to, just to even to get a basic knowledge required to understand application of expressions in Houdini. Links to such tutorials would be great.

This time I really don't want to stumble and stop learning. Any tips and advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
malbrecht
I'd claim that - at their core “logic” - almost all programming languages are “the same”. Air quotes, because there are layers upon layers that make “programming languages” look differently, feel differently, work differently. But at the end of the day, a programming language is there to convert more or less “human-readable instructions” into “computer usable commands”. And THAT fundamental thing is, pun intended, quite binary.