Search - User list
Full Version: RDB's and Emission
Root » Technical Discussion » RDB's and Emission
timbolland
Hi everyone, I'm dipping my toe into the awesome water of RDB's in Houdini 18. I'm new to working with destruction in general but I'm finding the workflow and solvers really nice so far, especially the guided sim.

I've managed to create a ground explosion based on a “shockwave” that uses the guided sim method and I'm hoping to up-res it and bring in a lot more detail. Looking around there seems to be a lot of methods to do this, but I'm stuck on finding the optimal solution. However in the Houdini launch presentation there is a slide that talks about emission. I think potentially using the initial sim as a guide for emission somehow would work. Does anyone know how to go about doing this? I'm guessing there are a few steps for it and any help would be appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Tim
mrCatfish
Have you looked at the “Debris” shelf tool? This is a bit over-engineered, but you can use for reference or simply use a debris source SOP to generate points where separation occurs and then feed this into a POP network to generate addtional debris.
Ivan L
It also depends on how your sim looks.
There are many ways, you can replace lowres chunks with hires, add debris with different variations, add displacement/bump on the edges, deform your chunks after the sim, add some details after the sim using the orient attribute from you bullet sim. Particles + dust also make it rich and detailed.
It will help if you provide a video if possible
Thanks
timbolland
Thank you for getting back guys, I added an early movie of what I'm going for just below the photo.