Material assignments stored in an independent USD file?

4343   9   2
8 posts
Hello,

I have a question regarding a type of “dynamic” material assignment setup that're we're trying to achieve.
I'm completely new to Solaris and USD in general so please excuse my lack of correct terminology, I'll try and explain what we're trying to do from a pipeline perspective.

Essentially we're tying to produce a setup where we have our materials and their assignments written out into a USD file which is independent from any geometry and version controlled.

Then in another network, referencing in that USD file and have that added to the scene graph with the assignments still in place.

Giving us a setup where we have the geometry and materials + their assignments in separate, version controlled, files, which are each referenced into a new scene and “combined” (grafted?) together (with a final USD write happening at the end of the network).

Is this possible? Would there be a better way to achieve something like this?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks for your time!
Jake
33 posts
Hey Jake,

not sure if what you try to achieve / describe is possible. As far as I know, in order to assign a material, you need to have both the material and the primitive it goes onto present in the scene graph.

What you could work I think is saving the materials out in one file “materials.usd” and then have a layer for material assignment “material_assignment.usd”. that you can sublayer in again later down the line.

empty scene
sublayer / reference your models into the scene
reference your materials into the scene (“materials.usd”)
layer break (all edits from now onwards are on a fresh layer)
assingn all the materials
configure layer (“material_assignment.usd”) This will then (if my theory is correct) only contain material assignments.
USD ROP -> save your final result / layout (“layout.usd”).