Overbright Emission Color turns white

2266   8   2
24 posts
Hey guys,
I am trying to use some emission color lights. But an emission intensity less than 1 will not be enough to illuminate surrounding objects, enough intensity will make some low-saturation emission colors overbright and become white… I'm a novice in rendering performance. Can it display accurate colors with high brightness (enough to illuminate the surroundings)? Or this is indeed physically normal
8531 posts
it's pretty common and indeed normal, it would be alarming if it didn't go towards white with bright emission as that would mean that one of your channels is probably 0

however to compress your range of the final image and bring owerbright areas back to the visible range it all comes down to what LUT you are using or alternatively to your comp
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
731 posts
I would render with per-light exports. Then you can tweak all of the different lights contributions in comp.
Sean Lewkiw
CG Supervisor
Machine FX - Cinesite MTL
24 posts
tamte
however to compress your range of the final image and bring owerbright areas back to the visible range it all comes down to what LUT you are using or alternatively to your comp

Sorry, I just started to know the concept of LUT. Does this mean that the image I currently see in the render view is not the correct color if I don't use LUT? And if I have multiple emission lights with different colors, do I need to create and debug LUTs for them separately, or for each different rendering view, or only one LUT can be applied to the entire hip model?
Will LUTs affect other parts of the screen after back to the visible range? And is it a common and correct way to illuminate the scene with high-intensity emission color geometry?
Sorry for too many questions
Edited by Nuuk - July 17, 2020 20:17:51
24 posts
mrCatfish
I would render with per-light exports. Then you can tweak all of the different lights contributions in comp.