Get/Set exposed HDA parameters with python in Unreal

   1271   5   0
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: Oct. 2013
Offline
I am trying to get/set exposed parameter values on a HoudiniAssetActor with python. So far, I tried actor.get_editor_property("my_parm") on the actor and its HoudiniAssetComponent, but without success.

Is it generally possible to do this with python and I am just not getting the parameter's name right?
Or is this only possible via C++?
If not possible via python as of now, are there plans for access to exposed parms via python in a future release?

Cheers for your answers!
User Avatar
Staff
506 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
Hi,

We're currently putting the finishing touches to the plugin's public API.
It will let you change parameters, inputs, instantiate HDAs, etc... either from python/BP/c++

The API will be available in a few weeks (early June).
User Avatar
Member
43 posts
Joined: May 2013
Offline
Will we be able to set defaults per HDA on "Do Not Generate Outputs" and the other checkboxes in the Asset Options section? That would be very useful.
User Avatar
Staff
506 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
You can already do that via detail generic property attributes, but yes the API will give you access to most of the Houdini Asset Component's property.

If you wanted to use an attribute, you could add i@unreal_uproperty_Outputless = 1 on the HDA's details.
User Avatar
Member
43 posts
Joined: May 2013
Offline
I dropped that line by itself in an attribute wrangle, set it to Run Over "Detail", but it did not check the checkbox, or prevent the behavior. How should I set it up?
Edited by johnLIC - May 18, 2021 11:01:00
User Avatar
Member
43 posts
Joined: May 2013
Offline
dpernuit
You can already do that via detail generic property attributes, but yes the API will give you access to most of the Houdini Asset Component's property.

If you wanted to use an attribute, you could add i@unreal_uproperty_Outputless = 1 on the HDA's details.


Can anyone clarify how to do this?
  • Quick Links