3DSceneColors

   1452   5   2
User Avatar
Member
1898 posts
Joined: Sept. 2015
Offline
I've been trying to change the colors and 'shading'(Alpha values) of my construction grid lines.

I copied the 3DSceneColors file from the SideFx program files into my windows docs/18.XX folder under the config folder and made changes to the colors and alpha values related to the cplane:

CplaneColor:         0.0 0.0 0.0 # non-selected active construction plane
...
...
CplaneAlpha: .....
CplaneLineAlpha: .....
etc.

However, after making changes and restarting a client of Houdini, no changes ever gets reflected in the scene.

Do I need to make some changes to the config file too? So that it will look at the copied 3DSceneColor file as a priority one to use?
Edited by BabaJ - Aug. 8, 2021 12:54:59
User Avatar
Member
1755 posts
Joined: Dec. 2006
Offline
hi, file should be maybe in the config folder
daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
User Avatar
Member
1898 posts
Joined: Sept. 2015
Offline
buki
hi, file should be maybe in the config folder

Yes...that is where I put it (as stated).
User Avatar
Member
7 posts
Joined: Sept. 2016
Offline
I generally go to the Houdini installation and delete 3DSceneColors.dark from there, since I prefer my own gradient scheme.

It would be great to know how to add more colour options to the Background dropdown.
User Avatar
Member
312 posts
Joined: June 2013
Online
BabaJ
I've been trying to change the colors and 'shading'(Alpha values) of my construction grid lines.

I copied the 3DSceneColors file from the SideFx program files into my windows docs/18.XX folder under the config folder and made changes to the colors and alpha values related to the cplane:

CplaneColor:         0.0 0.0 0.0 # non-selected active construction plane
...
...
CplaneAlpha: .....
CplaneLineAlpha: .....
etc.

However, after making changes and restarting a client of Houdini, no changes ever gets reflected in the scene.

Do I need to make some changes to the config file too? So that it will look at the copied 3DSceneColor file as a priority one to use?
I usually have 3DSceneColors.light in one of the HOUDINI_PATHs, let's say $HOME/houdini19.0/config, that will override the scheme in found in Houdini installation. If you have it in your own package then you can save your edits across installations.

Seems you're placing it in the write place, so it should be overriding. Could it be that there's some error and defaulting to the installation one?
Edited by probiner - March 23, 2022 07:46:52
User Avatar
Member
28 posts
Joined: Dec. 2018
Offline
I have the same question.
I just want to change my viewport background color and it is way too difficult for a 3D Software.
I modified 3DSceneColor.dark and dark is selected in the viewport.

3DSceneColor is actually pointing to your selected color theme .dark or .ligh.
  • Quick Links