Merge Alembic Files

   909   7   0
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: July 2014
Offline
Hi.

I have 4 Animations/Simualtions. All of them are running on the same mesh with the same vertexcount/order
How to i merge those anims back to one mesh animation?

Second Question.
How do i fuse the vertices of an animated alembic mesh?

thxs for any help
Guido
Edited by Guido Neumann2 - Dec. 31, 2021 05:20:22
User Avatar
Member
283 posts
Joined: Feb. 2012
Offline
For your second question, you need to unpack and convert or just convert and use a fuse node.

For the first question, do you have all these as alembics files? if so just add a merge node and drop a ROP alembic and just write that into one.

If you have different sims, obj merge all the outputs into one geo node and again you can merge all of them and drop a ROP or go to file > export > alembic (you can use this for both options, sims or abcs)
Edited by sepu - Dec. 30, 2021 13:44:13
User Avatar
Member
652 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
Guido Neumann2
How to i merge those anims back to one mesh animation?
If the point count stays consistent between the meshes and throughout the animation range, you can use the Blend Shapes SOP to combine their animations into one model by keying the blends.

Guido Neumann2
Second Question.
How do i fuse the vertices of a animated alembic mesh?
By default, alembics will come in as packed poly soups. Change Load As to Unpacked on your Alembic node and append a Convert SOP. You should be able to fuse now.
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: July 2014
Offline
Thanks a lot.... I will try that soon
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: July 2014
Offline
Hi. I pretty new to houdini.

I this test case i have 2 alembic archive files.
The merge node ist only available when i jump into the object.

thxs for some input here
Edited by Guido Neumann2 - Jan. 2, 2022 05:48:37

Attachments:
Screenshot 2022-01-02 114313.png (86.0 KB)
Screenshot 2022-01-02 114815.png (102.3 KB)

User Avatar
Member
283 posts
Joined: Feb. 2012
Offline
Do it in sop land

Attachments:
houdini_2022-01-02_07-53-03.png (11.4 KB)

User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: July 2014
Offline
Hi...Ok understood.

But how do i manage the animation ranges from each input alembic.
For Example.

clip1.abc has an animation range from 0-100
clip2.abc has an animation range from 101-200

and my output clip3.abc should range from 0-200
User Avatar
Member
8 posts
Joined: July 2014
Offline
MAde it with a switch node
  • Quick Links