Search - User list
Full Version: Houdini ocean to Unreal Engine
Root » Houdini for Realtime » Houdini ocean to Unreal Engine
Magro
Hi to everyone!

First of all, if this post is missplaced please accept my appologies. this matter has been beating me around to the point that i dont even know exactly what i am looking for!

guys i am relatively new to houdini, i am a musician and im learning so i can make a vision become reality, its been 3 months and im kinda getting my head around it through tutorials and strong efforts and i have been really sucessfull thus far! i am creating a world to make a VR video album, for this i am using houdini heightfields and that part is almost 100% done, i have sucessfuly managed to build the terrain exactly as i wanted it, got the layers right, managed to export to UE4 with instances and materials, built a custom skybox, materials are looking great in UE4 with quixel, even placed a beautiful custom made moon. that been said, now i have started to put an ocean in my world and things got too tricky, i cant find a specific tutorial to follow along that serves my needs. i managed to use the large ocean tool and tweaked it to the point that fits my needs, so here is where the nightmare starts, i cant get a grip on how to make the ocean collide with the terrain, tutorials approach only other ocean tools, the export ways i was using dont seem to work for my ocean. so PLEASE, SOMEONE, TELL ME:

question number 1
how do i get the ocean to collide with the shore cliffs in my terrain?

i also have stone pillars next to the cliffs:

question number 2
what would be the best approach to make these stone pillars interact with my ocean?

and last but by-no-means least:
question number 3

how do i export this ocean with loop (since its for a game-like thing and cannot be too heavy), collisions, shader and everything into UE4 or 5?