How can i collapse several nodes in single one like maya?

2544   5   0
18 posts
Hello everyone. i'm a maya user and i'm new in houdini. I want to know how i can collapse or delete history(maya) several nodes in one single. how can i do that? thanks for your help greetings from Machu Picchu - Peru

Attachments:
wwwwww.gif (3.0 MB)
fefeds.JPG (178.5 KB)

340 posts
Export a bgeo, or make a subnet, or make a network box, or start another tree with an object merge node.
8526 posts
Delete History is a very bad idea as it essentially bakes the lightweight procedural graph into explicit, static and potentially very heavy geo that will bloat your scene file on disk

- to do that though you have a few options
1. Turn on Lock Flag on the last node, this will store the cooked geo in the node with all described disadvantages

2. as a shortcut for 1. that you can just choose RMB/Geometry/Delete History with our mouse cursor over viewport which will place Lock flag on the display node but also delete all input nodes for you, which you really may not want to do as they will not be evaluated anymore, but its generally a good idea to have your history

3. append Stash Node and click on Stash Input, which will store static geo in a Data Parameter, but ultimately very similar to locked node with a few advantages, like easier recaching or being able to access and manipulate the cache through python

- better option is to append filecache node and cache your geo to disk either static or a sequence
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
18 posts
tamte
Delete History is a very bad idea

Hello Tamte, i get into more in modeling first then i get at simulation and dynamics. is that a good idea for modeling delete history or collapse in houdini? thanks for your answer and greetings from Peru
340 posts