How to Rename a VDB? Vops?

   13942   5   2
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
Two simple questions:

I create a sphere, then use VDB from Polygons to create a fog VDB called “fuel”.

#1 - I want to rename this field, without re sampling it. How would I accomplish that? I can't seem to find any node that would do a simple act of renaming without completely re sampling it.

#2 - I want to make a copy of this field, and rename that one as well (without sampling). How would I do that? Again, I'm struggling to find the correct node to do this with.

Thanks!
Luke
User Avatar
Member
242 posts
Joined: Jan. 2008
Offline
Luke Letellier
Two simple questions:

I create a sphere, then use VDB from Polygons to create a fog VDB called “fuel”.

#1 - I want to rename this field, without re sampling it. How would I accomplish that? I can't seem to find any node that would do a simple act of renaming without completely re sampling it.

#2 - I want to make a copy of this field, and rename that one as well (without sampling). How would I do that? Again, I'm struggling to find the correct node to do this with.

Thanks!
Luke
The name of a field is a primitive string attribute called… name
Put down a primitive wrangler and type s@name = “myNewName”; or use the attribute string editor SOP.

Regarding the copy, cant you just make two branches and merge them in the end? Or why not just use the copy node?
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
I figured it would be something that simple. Thank you so much!

Regarding Volume VOPs - how would you edit/import a field into VOPs that wasn't called “Density”?
User Avatar
Staff
2540 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
For #1, there is a SOP. Use the Name SOP. It has two main ways of naming your primitives. See the Name SOP help card.
Wrangle works as well but requires coding which may or may not be as procedural.

For #2, absolutely fork off, append a Name SOP to rename, do work on the volume then merge to the stream to add additional volumes. You have the same container settings for free.
There's at least one school like the old school!
User Avatar
Staff
2540 posts
Joined: July 2005
Offline
As for importing additional volumes with different names in to the first input, just put down a Bind VOP and set the name identical to the name of the volume you wish to import.

If it is a scalar, set the Bind VOP to create a scalar.

If it is a vector field such as a velocity field as volumes vel.x vel.y vel.z or as VDB grid as a proper vec field, set the Bind VOP to create a vector.

Hope this helps.
There's at least one school like the old school!
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined: April 2014
Offline
jeff
Name SOP

Doh! So simple. Thanks!

Thank you so much!


As for importing additional volumes with different names in to the first input, just put down a Bind VOP and set the name identical to the name of the volume you wish to import.

If it is a scalar, set the Bind VOP to create a scalar.

If it is a vector field such as a velocity field as volumes vel.x vel.y vel.z or as VDB grid as a proper vec field, set the Bind VOP to create a vector.

This works great as well. Again - thank you!
  • Quick Links