Setting Open CL device

   11637   12   2
User Avatar
Member
22 posts
Joined: 9月 2015
Offline
Hi there, quick question about choosing the gpu i want to be my open cl device..
i have a GTX1080 in slot 1 with no displays and a 970 in slot 2 and it handles both my displays. Id like to use the 1080 for open CL.

Is this the correct command to add to my env file?

HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 1

Thanks in advance
User Avatar
Member
4189 posts
Joined: 6月 2012
Offline
I think it relates to the slot number, but it's easy to test. The About Houdini under the help menu shows which OpenCL device is selected.
User Avatar
Member
22 posts
Joined: 9月 2015
Offline
Aah, fantastic. Just what i was after. Thanks very much!!
User Avatar
Member
46 posts
Joined: 10月 2015
Offline
hey, did it work with the “_DEVICENUMBER” in your case? When trying it I get
an “incorrect device number” exception in Houdini -
could you perhaps hint me on how to switch the buses instead of the slots?
(Got this crappy optimus notebook and it defaults to the intelHD as openCL device
on Win - while on Linux (same device, employing bumblebee) the nvidia card
is used for both (GL/CL), as desired + it´s about twice as fast.
Would love to get this working on Win too…),
thnx + cheers!
…just
…evolving
User Avatar
Member
22 posts
Joined: 9月 2015
Offline
illusionistics
hey, did it work with the “_DEVICENUMBER” in your case? When trying it I get
an “incorrect device number” exception in Houdini -
could you perhaps hint me on how to switch the buses instead of the slots?
(Got this crappy optimus notebook and it defaults to the intelHD as openCL device
on Win - while on Linux (same device, employing bumblebee) the nvidia card
is used for both (GL/CL), as desired + it´s about twice as fast.
Would love to get this working on Win too…),
thnx + cheers!


Hi yes - HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 0
worked perfectly for me

As Artye says: go to: help>about houdini>show details - to check and then try either 0 or 1 as device number.
Edited by cybernetix - 2017年2月21日 09:33:35
User Avatar
Member
46 posts
Joined: 10月 2015
Offline
Ok, will give it another try
thnx!
…just
…evolving
User Avatar
Member
4189 posts
Joined: 6月 2012
Offline
You'll need to use this:

HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR=“NVIDIA Corporation”
User Avatar
Member
83 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
where is the env file located in macOS ? It seems Houdini is using the IRIS pro for OpenCL instead of the nvidia card.
User Avatar
スタッフ
809 posts
Joined: 7月 2006
Offline
You can also try the hgpuinfo command-line tool for diagnosing these issues faster than the about box.

hgpuinfo -c
will list the current opencl device chosen

hgpuinfo -l

will list all of the available opencl devices.
Edited by johner - 2017年2月21日 20:16:25
User Avatar
Member
83 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
johner
You can also try the hgpuinfo command-line tool for diagnosing these issues faster than the about box.

hgpuinfo -c
will list the current opencl device chosen


It is showing the IRISpro as the Opencl Device ( On a Retina MacBook pro )

How do I change it to Nvidia ?

EDIT : Nevermind, got it. Many of these things need to be GUI based.

Feel like I am cheating in a need for speed LAN game by changing the config file ;D
Edited by nisachar - 2017年2月21日 21:03:35
User Avatar
Member
77 posts
Joined: 2月 2017
Offline
it really works with the command HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 0(or 1,2,3…), i have changed the GPU for Houdini, Thank you!
My Youtube Channel [www.youtube.com]
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: 10月 2018
Offline
Hi, can someone help me with it please? I got an error:

“OpenCL Context error: CL_MEM_OBJECT_ALLOCATION_FAILURE error executing CL_COMMAND_WRITE_BUFFER on GeForce RTX 2080 (Device 0).

OpenCL Exception: clEnqueueWrite
OpenCL Exception: Integer overflow building index for packed array attribute. (-4)
OpenCL Exception: Integer overflow building index for packed array attribute.”

I have no idea how to solve this when I'm using water sim and whitewater sim. I'm new to Houdini.

Thank you guys.
User Avatar
Member
4 posts
Joined: 1月 2015
Offline
anon_user_37409885
You'll need to use this:

HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR=“NVIDIA Corporation”

Thank you, this helped!
Otherwise it used motherboards built-in card.
always learning
  • Quick Links