GameDev SImple Baker - Error Running Callback

   9326   19   4
User Avatar
Member
5 posts
Joined: 2月 2017
Offline
Hello,
this is my first try using houdini since 2010…
i'm following this tutorial -> https://www.sidefx.com/tutorials/high_res_mesh/ [www.sidefx.com]
it's pretty cool, but at the step of baking normal and other maps, i get this error message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
  File "opdef:/Sop/sop_simple_baker?PythonModule", line 4, in render
  File "C:/PROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.405/houdini/python2.7libs\houpythonportion.py", line 3239, in decorator
    return func(*args, **kwargs)
  File "C:/PROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.405/houdini/python2.7libs\hou.py", line 46461, in render
    return _hou.RopNode_render(*args, **kwargs)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.

i don't know what to do at this step, because it works nicely in the video, not in my reality.

is there anything to do?

thanks.
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: 3月 2018
Offline
Same Problem. No idea.
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined: 11月 2012
Offline
Hello!

Unfortunately this could be a few different things. So let's start with the basics to figure out what's happening.

Are you using 16.5 and the latest game dev tools? 1.9 Development Branch?

Luiz
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: 10月 2017
Offline
We're running into this as well.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “<stdin>”, line 1, in <module>
File “opdefSop/sop_simple_baker?PythonModule”, line 4, in render
File “CPROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.405/houdini/python2.7libs\houpythonportion.py”, line 3239, in decorator
return func(*args, **kwargs)
File “CPROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.405/houdini/python2.7libs\hou.py”, line 46461, in render
return _hou.RopNode_render(*args, **kwargs)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.
User Avatar
Member
14 posts
Joined: 12月 2016
Offline
I get a similar error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “<stdin>”, line 1, in <module>
File “opdefSop/sop_simple_baker?PythonModule”, line 4, in render
File “CPROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.268/houdini/python2.7libs\houpythonportion.py”, line 3136, in decorator
return func(*args, **kwargs)
File “CPROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.268/houdini/python2.7libs\hou.py”, line 42467, in render
return _hou.RopNode_render(*args, **kwargs)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.

I'm running Indie 16.5.268 with the dev branch, I got the same error in 1.9 and 1.10.

I also get this error when baking with the gameres sop, which is to be expected.
Edited by isjtar - 2018年4月10日 07:08:32
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined: 11月 2012
Offline
Can you guys shoot me an example file over to luiz at sidefx.com? I can't seem to reproduce it on my machine, but there's been enough reports to make me thing something can be fixed.
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
User Avatar
Member
14 posts
Joined: 12月 2016
Offline
Mail sent…
User Avatar
Member
240 posts
Joined: 11月 2012
Offline
So one of the issues was with not having a Mantra license installed. I'm guessing this could be the cause of a few of your errors.

So make sure that in your license administrator you also have a Mantra license under Installed Licenses.
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
User Avatar
Member
3 posts
Joined: 10月 2017
Offline
Our license for FX is temp, as a result we don't have our Mantra licenses yet. I'll let you know when we do and if that fixes it for us.
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: 4月 2018
Offline
having the same problem too following this tutorial. was working on the most recent apprentice houdini, uninstalled that installed the stable version. same problem. seems like mantra license is installed. (attachment)

Attachments:
Mantra.JPG (45.4 KB)

User Avatar
Member
555 posts
Joined: 2月 2017
Offline
see this thread:

https://www.sidefx.com/forum/topic/55169/ [www.sidefx.com]

since the OP never replied, I can't 100% confirm the actual cause…but I think it's because of using Apprentice…you can't use the default resolution 2048x2048.

Max res I found was 960x960 (for Apprentice)

(I'm 99.99% confident Apprentice is the cause)
Edited by vusta - 2018年5月11日 20:01:56
User Avatar
Member
2 posts
Joined: 4月 2018
Offline
thankyou vusta yes that worked reduced to 960 x 960 apprentice seems to be the cause
User Avatar
Member
5 posts
Joined: 3月 2018
Offline
I've just gotten Houdini Indie and am getting the same error:
File “<stdin>”, line 1, in <module>
File “opdefgamedev:op/sop_simple_baker?PythonModule”, line 4, in render
File “CPROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.571/houdini/python2.7libs\houpythonportion.py”, line 3262, in decorator
return func(*args, **kwargs)
File “CPROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.571/houdini/python2.7libs\hou.py”, line 46539, in render
return _hou.RopNode_render(*args, **kwargs)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.

I'm new to Houdini, basically I followed a Houdini Game Dev Toolset tutorial (the Pavlovich one, fwiw) on Apprentice, and worked up until the point where I got the error and realized I was limited to the 960x960 render. I then bought Indie, installed, redid and am now getting the sameerror, regardless of resolution.

Finding this thread, I gather this may be because, in addition to the Houdini Indie 16.5 license, I need a Mantra license, I think. I don't see that it wsa installed when I downloaded and installed Houdini Indie:


Is this something I need to do separately? The licensing FAQ page is pretty dense, and I gather I need to become handy with the command line tools to do this- but is this the most likely path to resolving my issue? I'm a little confused because I don;t understand why I could do this at 960x960 on Apprentice, but can't do anything without getting an error with Indie.

Attachments:
Mantra.PNG (418.2 KB)

User Avatar
Member
35 posts
Joined: 9月 2018
Offline
I just had this same issue and fixed it by setting resolution to 960 x 960.

I'm also on apprentice license.
The only devil I know is in the detail.
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: 10月 2018
Offline
I've just upgraded to the FX license and I can't get the game baker or the simple baker to work, I'm using Houdini FX 17.0.352 and game tools 1.72 but I've tried 1.73 as well.

The error I get is…

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
  File "opdef:/gamedev::Sop/sop_simple_baker?PythonModule", line 4, in render
  File "C:/PROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.352/houdini/python2.7libs\houpythonportion\ui.py", line 706, in decorator
    return func(*args, **kwargs)
  File "C:/PROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.352/houdini/python2.7libs\hou.py", line 49868, in render
    return _hou.RopNode_render(*args, **kwargs)
OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.

Even though I'm not running the apprentice version I tried baking out at 512x512 just in case my mantra licence didn't upgrade correctly but I still get the error.
User Avatar
Member
40 posts
Joined: 10月 2018
Offline
no solution yet ?

this problem is really anoying.
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: 10月 2018
Offline
Solution from SideFX:

“The issue is that the simple baker needs a full filepath to bake to, not just Dbake. It needs Dbake/${HIPNAME}_$(CHANNEL).tga”
User Avatar
Member
21 posts
Joined: 11月 2013
Offline
I'm getting this error using GameRes SOP and this is the filepath I'm using: $HIP/render/${HIPNAME}_$(CHANNEL).tga, looking in simplebaker inside it seems like it resolve the path as expected. Is this normal?

I found it was Quixel Bridge messing around, so just commenting that houdini_path fix it in this case. More details could be found here: https://www.sidefx.com/forum/post/280912/ [www.sidefx.com]
Edited by ocalaf - 2019年4月16日 17:47:50
User Avatar
Member
1 posts
Joined: 2月 2020
Offline
I also got the same issue when using the simple bake sop.
I'm using Houdini Indie Steam version and I didn't found any related info, also I can't see my lisence management on Steam so I don't know if Mantra is up to date.
I've already change the path file, the resolution but get no result got any idee to fix it ?
User Avatar
Member
6 posts
Joined: 11月 2016
Offline
2023 and this is still a problem...I have tried all the steps minus updating to the newest daily build. Please fix!
I was able to fix this by making a mantra node. I don't know if all the other steps need to be in place too because I tried all of them; but it started working right after I made the Mantra node in the Out context.
Edited by DanTrip - 2023年1月16日 20:13:19
  • Quick Links