How to bring up the console window on Windows?

20309   8   4
4 posts
Hello, I am new to Hoidini, looking for the way to bring up the console window. I searched the net including this forum, did not manage to find the answer, got an impression that there can be some confusion in according questions and answers: it seems that frequently it is rather supposed it to be the shell or command prompt window and/or the things are different on Windows and Mac/Linux. The question is about the window, presented on the attached screenshot, the OS is Windows.

Currently I can see this window due to the fact that after upgrading to 16.0.557 it is always opens as Houdini starts to display a warning from QT. There was no such issue with Houdini before this version, I believe, and the window was not shown. In any way, I have no idea how to bring this window up unless it opens by itself or if I have closed it. How can it be done?

The need of getting this window is that I would like to see output of the printf function for debugging VEX code and it outputs in that window, as shown on the attached screenshot.

Is there a way to see its output somewhere else? I tried the approach of starting Houdini from the command prompt mentioned for Mac with no success - it looks that it does not apply to Windows and the printf output gets into that console window no matter of the way of starting Houdini.
Is there another way to see the output of printf in Houdini on Windows?

Attachments:
Screenshots.png (66.5 KB)

7714 posts
I'm not sure I'm understanding you. The initial console pop up shouldn't detract you from using it to do printf debugging. The VEX printf's would just go to the end of text. If it annoys you to see it, you can hit the “Clear” button after starting.
4 posts
Hello, the main question is “how to bring this window up unless it opens by itself or if I have closed it. How can it be done?”