Terrain UV and texture export

10218   11   4
3 posts
Hello !
This is my first post here. I'm new to Houdini and i'm following this video of Alex Dracott where he shows how he built a terrain.

Well, i'm stuck … i don't understand how to apply a uv to the terrain that i generated. i'd like to test it further in c4d, try things etc ..
the obj exported doesn't feature a uv map. And i can't export the diffuse from the quickshade node after i had fun modeling the terrain.

this is the video i'm following : https://youtu.be/VZnrQCu9-bg?t=1642 [youtu.be]

Thanks for your help.

Attachments:
1.JPG (248.1 KB)
2.JPG (91.2 KB)

スタッフ
2540 posts
You are converting the height field to a polygon surface to export to C4D… You can apply a UV Texture SOP and project uv's down the Y axis to create the uv's then export the polygon surface.

The HeightField Quick Shade SOP is an HDA Houdini Digital Asset. The HDA is basically a wrapper around an actual material for Mantra with texture map slots. You can dive in to the asset and look at how the material is created to set up a similar material in C4D.
From a brief look at the material inside the HeightField Quick Shade HDA, you supply textures which are using height fields as masks, then are simply summed up and added over a base texture map. You can generate texture maps from the height fields in COPs and then rebuild the setup in C4D.

If you want you can just bake out a set textures using the Material Bake Texture ROP as applied to the uv polygon terrain rendered through the HeightField Quick Shade SOP.
There's at least one school like the old school!
3 posts
Thanks Jeff ! That’s looks really complex for a beginner like me.
As a start, how can I create an UV texture SOP to generate uv’s please ? i mean, you explained it but … well i should try and see if i'm stuck. isn't it possible to fully unwrap the uv's rather than to project them on Y axis ?