Channel reference works in reverse?

   492   5   1
User Avatar
Member
256 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
Hello,

Something that always threw me off.

1. I use a channel reference on parameter "x" to get its value from another parameter which I will call the "source".
2. changing the source value will update parameter "x"'s value. This is obviously expected.
3. changing the value on parameter "x" will update the value on the source parameter????

How is that possible? There is no expression on the source parameter, so what is causing the value to change?

Attachments:
reference.gif (1.7 MB)

Thanks,

Evan
User Avatar
Member
2137 posts
Joined: 9月 2015
Offline
If you don't want the reverse connection/behaviour,
after making the reference, just right click on the parameter and select lock parameter.
User Avatar
Member
256 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
BabaJ
If you don't want the reverse connection/behaviour,
after making the reference, just right click on the parameter and select lock parameter.

Thanks. I was more so wondering why it happens.
Edited by evanrudefx - 2025年1月13日 18:19:18
Thanks,

Evan
User Avatar
Member
8983 posts
Joined: 7月 2007
Online
it's for convenience
it is sort of like:
source_parm = my_parm.getReferencedParm()
source_parm.set( new_value )

it only works if you have direct reference without additional expression, also if you open Animation Editor it will show you channel of referenced parameter

it is not as elegant as instanced parameters in MAX for example, but I'm glad it's at least working like this
Edited by tamte - 2025年1月13日 20:56:38
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
User Avatar
Member
256 posts
Joined: 2月 2016
Offline
tamte
it's for convenience
it is sort of like:
source_parm = my_parm.getReferencedParm()
source_parm.set( new_value )

it only works if you have direct reference without additional expression, also if you open Animation Editor it will show you channel of referenced parameter

it is not as elegant as instanced parameters in MAX for example, but I'm glad it's at least working like this

Thanks,

that is interesting, if I do the channel reference and add + 0 or something additional like you said then it doesn't work in reverse.

Attachments:
Capture.JPG (18.8 KB)

Thanks,

Evan
User Avatar
Member
8983 posts
Joined: 7月 2007
Online
evanrudefx
that is interesting, if I do the channel reference and add + 0 or something additional like you said then it doesn't work in reverse.
that's because it may be impossible to reverse the expression in general, so to me it just makes sense that this is limited to direct channel references as that makes it clear that it is sort of an "instance" of the source parameter
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
  • Quick Links