Search - User list
Full Version: study materials
Root » Houdini Lounge » study materials
rayman22201
I am a student who has a little bit of self taught 3d experience, and liked the potential of the Houdini software and the good way they seem to treat students (especially in the money department), so I thought I would get download the free version and test it out (if I like it I guarantee I will get the 99 dollar version, thats an insane deal for any good 3d package…). The thing is, I was looking for some good self study material and I have a few questions.
first, I looked at The Magic of Houdini book, which got great reviews but is for houdini 8… I am reading about 9's new user interface, and I'm wondering if that book was made out of date and not worth getting since the new release? Are there any good books or study materials out for houdini 9 yet or do I need wait?

Thanks
Pagefan
Hi Rayman,

welcome to houdini! As far as i know the only book about houdini 9 is Craig's book “Houdini on the spot”. It's very nice but as the sub-title says, it's a power-user kinda thing. Of course this doesn't mean it's useless for people starting with houdini but it's in no way a book about how to learn houdini (you still should get it though )) You could get started with all the tutorials on the Sidefx website (check out the tutorial section, the old school blog and the H9 blog). Digital Tutors just made some free videos how to get started with houdini.

The Magic of Houdini is a very nice book and it is a great introduction to Houdini(8). If you are new to houdini i wouldn't suggest you'd use it though unless you start with the use of houdini 8 too. There are quite a few difference between H8 and H9 that can make it frustrating for someone who doesn't know the differences…

think i should stop now…need to get more coffee…anyway, good luck learning houdini and remember There is no try, do or do not (quoting some green fellow from a galaxy far away)
andrewlowell