Search - User list
Full Version: Newbee: How to group colliding points of a RBD object?
Root » Houdini Indie and Apprentice » Newbee: How to group colliding points of a RBD object?
3Dude
Hello forum!
I'm very new to Houdini and this is my first post here. I'm doing my first
steps with dop networks and just wonder how I can store colliding points in
a group to use that information anywhere else in the network.

Is there a node wich can help me out?

best regards, Seb.
sadhu
Hi !
I tried it a lot but it didn't work . Uploading the hip files hoping that someone will point out my mistake.

1)
I was studying sopsolver and came across this in the help

By using an expression like stamps(“../OUT”, “DATAPATH”, “../.bjname/Geometry”) in an Object Merge SOP, the output of the previous timestep can be used as the starting point for the next timestep within the SOP Network.

So I thought we can achieve what you want through the sopsolver (file attached) I was transferring the colour from grid to the sphere by attribute transfer sop and feeding the frame back to the input by using the stmps expression hoping that part of sphere which has collided with grid will get coloured and then I can group it.

Can someone please point out my mistake? Is it possible this way?

2)
Also tried using rop output driver.

Imported the geometry from dop (sphere colliding with the grid, File attached)
Applied colour to both the geometries , used attribute transfer to transfer the colour from grid to sphere and then used rop output driver to render out .bgeo sequence. Each frame is then fed back to the input this time used switch operator to feed in the rendered sequence. Hoping that part of sphere which has collided with grid will get coloured and then I can group it. ( not very accurate way to get the pts which are collided, still)
Even this didnt work

Please let me know if there is any other solution to this problem

Please help :cry:
sadhu

Figured out one mistake. (Using rop output driver)