Search - User list
Full Version: PBR and vex_Gl
Root » Houdini Indie and Apprentice » PBR and vex_Gl
Houdinik
Hi,

I Just started playing around with image based lighting in Mantra – everything works nice so far but when I try to replace the environment light with a template light (with a vex GL light shader applied) the render remains black when rendering in PBR mode. Well it works with Raytracing , and also If I apply a environment box to the scene – but is there any other way to set up image based lighting in Mantra (PBR) with the vex Gl shader but without using a environment box ? Or does the PBR engine really needs something in the scene to work with, since it is physically based?
old_school
Your scene file is built using Houdini 10 methods. Were you following a tutorial or lesson?

First of all, you can't use the Light Template technique using the Vex GI Light SHOP shader with PBR. It doesn't work as you found out.

Houdini11 changed the way you set up image based lighting. It is very easy now. You no longer need to resort to the Light Template to get performance when using Mantra in Micropolygon or Raytrace mode and it works with all three Mantra render engines with similar results.

You use an Environment Light.
old_school
Upon further inspection of your file, you are using an old Houdini10 Mantra Output ROP driver as well.

Please replace that with a new Mantra ROP and set up the PBR settings to match the old one then discard the old one.
Houdinik
Hi Jeff,