Search - User list
Full Version: Ideas for new Python tool
Root » Houdini Lounge » Ideas for new Python tool
Iamgroot93
Hi everyone, I've just started to learn some basic Python scripting. I'm currently a student and I'm experimenting with Python. I'm thinking to develop a tool that could simplify or share more data in the passage between Houdini and Nuke.
But I'm not sure if this will be the right path to take.

I just wondered if anyone had any suggestions for repetitive or boring tasks that I could implement with a Python shelf tool? Or there is any tool that you think it's missing from Houdini?

Thank you so much,
Alice
anon_user_89151269
Hey Alice,
If this is up your alley, a button equivalent to pressing all those three at once would be cool.
Iamgroot93
inhiding
Hey Alice,
If this is up your alley, a button equivalent to pressing all those three at once would be cool.
Thank you for the suggestion. I've been trying for the last few days to create it, but it's a little more complicate than i thought. I reverse engineer the geometry node and this is the code for one of the scale button:

hou_parm_template2 = hou.FloatParmTemplate(“s”, “Scale”, 3, default_value), min=0, max=10, min_is_strict=False, max_is_strict=False, look=hou.parmLook.Regular, naming_scheme=hou.parmNamingScheme.XYZW)
hou_parm_template2.setTags({“autoscope”: “1111111111111111111111111111111”, “script_action”: “import objecttoolutils\nobjecttoolutils.matchTransform(kwargs, 2)”, “script_action_help”: “Select an object to match the scale with.”, “script_action_icon”: “BUTTONS_match_scale”})
hou_parm_template.addParmTemplate(hou_parm_template2)

But I'm having trouble to get the name of the specific button. I'm going to keep trying for the next days. Hope I'll make it.

Thank you again for the suggestion
anon_user_89151269
Hopefully Mark (mtucker) will see this and chime in to help. Or someone else…
anon_user_00157425