Search - User list
Full Version: I click on the command line - the top line - they turn blue
Root » Technical Discussion » I click on the command line - the top line - they turn blue
jay s wilson
Hi. Complete novice here.
I downloaded the Houdini Apprentice Edition, yesterday 19 feb.
It appears to have been successfully installed.
But, when I click on the command line - the top line - files through help.
They turn blue and - - -
I go to License Adminstrator and click on File and View - they turn blue and - zero.
Obliviously, I have done something wrong.
Any advise.
I am behind a firewall. My system a dual 800, running on 2000.
Uninstall and . . .
stevenong
Hi Jay,

May we know what graphics card are you using? Also, have you downloaded the latest drivers for it?

Thanks!

Cheers!
steven
jay s wilson
I have a dual monitor card a Appian Pro.
Its driver is a win2kv107p2.

I did again uninstall - reinstalled and same problem.

I can not open anything - ie Licenses Administrator ( can go to the Installed Licenses and Server Info) but can not change, so I cannot run halo ect.

I can start Master, and it appears to let me change Xform info, crop, view.

But, no pull downs appear under - file - edit - options - dialogs - desktops - help.

all in all very sad.
stevenong
Hi Jay,

I did a quick search of the Internet & found that the Appian pro card uses a Permedia 2 chipset.

Unfortunately, the chipset is not certified to run Houdini. Please go to this link [sidefx.com] for a systems requirement guide.

The above said, maybe you would like to try downloading drivers from 3Dlabs [3dlabs.com]? I'm not sure if they will work with your graphics card though.

One workaround is to use software OpenGL to run Houdini on your system. Please go to this link [sidefx.com] for instructions on how to set HOUDINI_OGL_SOFTWARE in Windows.

Please note that the above workaround will cause Houdini to lose some interactiveness.

Please let us know if you have any more questions.

Cheers!
steven