Search - User list
Full Version: Batching/wedging failure with Redshift
Root » PDG/TOPs » Batching/wedging failure with Redshift
mattebb
I'm doing some wedged rendering with redshift and thought it would be a good opportunity to try TOPs for the first time. I was able to get it working on a basic level with a Wedge TOP (3 workitems) connected to a ROP Fetch TOP, referencing my redshift ROP (900 frames each, so 2700 workitems).

The problem is that each workitem seems to be a separate command, and therefore a separate houdini process. I'd like to batch each wedge together, into the one houdini process, so I don't suffer the houdini startup and scene cook time penalty each frame.

I'm new to TOPs and find it all a bit confusing but it seems like the ‘All Frames in One Batch’ option on the ROP Fetch could do what I need. When I generate the work items they seem to be doing what I need (the work item command represents a frame range, not individual frames), however when I cook the TOP, all my work items fail with this python error:

Loading .hip file C:/myfilepath/waveforms_v04.hiplc. Traceback (most recent call last): File "C:/myfilepath/pdgtemp/47396/scripts/rop.py", line 500, in cooker.cookBatchFrames(args) File "C:/myfilepath/pdgtemp/47396/scripts/rop.py", line 253, in cookBatchFrames """.format(args=args, index_expr=index_expr, parm_name=parm.name()) AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'name' [Redshift] Closing the RS instance. End of the plugin log system.

I've tried it with fetching a mantra ROP and it seems to work ok. I'm using Houdini 17.5.173.

thanks
mattebb
Update: I just took a look in that python script (rop.py) that's erroring out and I think I've found the issue. It seems to be looking for an output file parameter on the ROP, but the script only has a hardcoded list of parameter names that obviously only includes relevant parameters found on built-in SESI ROPs.