Search - User list
Full Version: Cooking Stops at Work Item Expand Nodes
Root » PDG/TOPs » Cooking Stops at Work Item Expand Nodes
bsilvaLS
Hello! First, a disclaimer – I'm an experienced Houdini artist, but just now learning PDG/TOPs.

I have a situation where I've setup a PDG graph that builds up a PyObject attribute named “paths” from Python script nodes, which is a list. At the end of that graph I have a Work Item Expand node, set to apply expansion to “Upstream Attribute” named “paths”.

If I cook the graph from that node, or any node further down in the graph, all the nodes before the Work Item Expand node cook, but then it stops there. The Work Item Expand node remains uncooked and has no work items generated. If I then select the Expand node and “Dirty and Cook Selected node”, it generates the work items and cooks.

Originally I had several nodes upstream set to Static generation, since they were just adding attributes to a single work item (created by an Attribute Create node). But, if I set them all to Automatic I see the same behaviour.

I suspect I may have some misunderstanding of how work items are generated and cooked, but I can't see what it is based on what I've read or done so far.

Any help appreciated!
tpetrick
The PDG graph cook has two phases - generate and cook. You can see what the generated graph looks like by going to Tasks - > Generate Static Work Items. If a node is static it must be able to produce its work items during the generation phase, without any of the work items having cooked yet. Dynamic nodes, on the other hand, will not produce any work items during the generation phase. They create new items each time an upstream work item finishes cooking.